Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
These are very light and sweet. The buttermilk makes them very tender. Personally I prefer a heartier muffin for breakfast, but I can't stop snagging these for snacks as I walk through the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great Recipe--Thank you for sharing. Followed the directions except for adding 1 tsp. Apple Pie Spice. I used oil as per recipe and found them to be very moist. I topped them with pecans, brown sugar, and some oats before baking....yum...came out superb. I also added some cinnamon chips to the batter for flavor. I used Raisin Bran Crunch cereal as that is what I had on hand. I used foil muffin cups and sprayed them lightly to prevent sticking...they popped right out of the foil cups! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made as stated, adding 2 tbsp. of molasses to darken the batter and give that bran taste. These were really tasty. Next time, I am going to keep the molasses, decrease the sugar by 1/4 cup (they are lots sweet enough), and try the apple sauce instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I make these frequently, and I have passed the recipe on to many friends. This recipe is very forgiving for tweaking. I always use All-Bran cereal and sub whole wheat for the flour. I use honey or Agave for the sugar as well. I use applesauce, mashed bananas or pumpkin puree for the oil. I also like to add cinnamin and ground cloves to give more of a spice cake taste. I've added dates, raisins, or cranberries before, and even nuts; loved them all! I've even shredded carrots or squash into to mix and loved it! Great recipe to play around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Today I made these muffins, exactly as the recipe is written and the muffins are fabulous...moist, flavorful and healthy. This will be my bran muffin recipe from now on! Try it, you'll love them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stonehill26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My family LOVED these. It made 18 muffins - probably because I used Kellogg's All-Bran Bran Buds (didn't have regular bran.) They were moist and not too sweet; just right.Used 1/2 c. wheat flour and 1/2 c. white flour, had a few leftover fresh blueberries (about 1/3 c.), a shy 1/3 c. dried cranberries, and about 1/3c. - 1/2 c. chopped pecans (a must with my family). Delish!! Will use this basic recipe again and again try different fruits and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These muffins make a great "healthier" snack alternative. I made some of the subs recommended by others (milk & lemon juice for buttermilk, wheat flour, added some bananas, molasses sub for brown sugar, etc.). All good. Some a little better than others. I did actually add a little more milk than it calls for. I also always add 2-3 scoops of protein powder and still turned out great. I put a little bit of honey on top. My kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is one good classic bran muffin recipe. I changed three things: First, I am opposed to dirtying 3 bowls to make muffins so I added the eggs etc. right into the soaked bran. Second, I chose to use frozen blueberries instead of raisins (and based on advice from a cookbook I have, I rinsed the berries then dried with paper towels before adding - this prevents the batter from turning a strange colour and doesn't cool the batter down too much hence impairing cooking). Third, I doubled the recipe. The result? Moist, light (for a bran muffin) and tasty. I know alot of people have opted to replace the oil with applesauce or similar ingredients, but I say, what's a little oil? I have stashed away a freezer inventory for busy mornings and have no complaints. My advice? Try these (unless you are looking for a cupcake, in which case look elsewhere).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I used oat bran in place of wheat bran, as that's what I had on hand. I also used apple sauce in place of oil and dried cranberries in place of raisins. The muffins were marvelous! My husband wolfed down four of them and asked me if I'd make another half batch tomorrow night. This recipe is an easy and delicious way to put more fiber in your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This recipe was FANTASTIC. I used low fat buttermilk and add 1/ cup of mashed banana with 1/2 cup of walnuts. Absolutely delicious, super moist and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,000) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States