Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Love this recipe! Made it for the first time today. Used Trader Joe's brand bran cereal, cut back on the sugar by just a few tbs, and used coconut oil. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Very good! I made some healthy changes: 1 1/4 cups bran and 1/4 cup chia seeds. Plain yogurt instead of buttermilk. Coconut oil and carrot baby food instead of veg oil. 1/3 cup pure maple syrup instead of 2/3 cup brown sugar. 1 cup whole wheat flour instead of AP flour. 1 cup chopped figs instead of 1/2 cup raisins. Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Lyn Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
These were amazingly yummy! I didn't have buttermilk so I used 1 tbsp of lemon juice & added regular milk to that (to equal 1 cup). I let that sit for 2 min & viola, instant buttermilk! Tasted perfect!! I also added 1 cup of raisins instead of 1/2 cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I had my reservations about this recipe after trying many others but this one was great. I subbed the oil for Apple sauce and added crasins. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Did not like at all not really moist, scratchy and dry compaired to the very moist ones from the store. Maybe i should have used molasses or honey or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Yummy! I substituted yogurt thinned with milk instead of buttermilk and added the raisins along with the bran to the yogurt for softening. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Very dry, followed directions exactly and baked for 16 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I wish there was a rating higher than five. I love these so much. I just made them for the second time this week. I am going to need to buy more bran! I have some picky eaters in my family who don't like raisins, but I still wanted the sweetness, so I pulsed the raisins with the bran in the food processor until I had a crumbly mixture. I also added pecan chunks. Its also good with shredded carrots added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Delicious! And Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
These are a very good classic bran muffin. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and used brown sugar Splenda. I would have substituted some of the oil with applesauce but didn't have any so I cut back the oil to 1/4 cup which didn't affect the flavor. I like the addition of buttermilk which adds tenderness to muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,033) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States