Classic Bangers and Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Pretty darn good! We'll definitely be making again. Another kid hit! Maybe next time I'll make some homemade gravy as I think I'd enjoy it just a little more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is a good recipe to start with. I went to my local butcher shop and got a package of authentic Irish banger sausage. For the recipe, I pan-fried my sausages, then removed them as noted, to sauté the onions, which I did for somewhat less than the five minutes suggested, because we like them to still be crunchy, so long enough just to heat them through. Also, I never buy canned gravy, so I made some pan gravy. I removed the onions from the skillet, added some beef stock that I had in the fridge to and brought that to a boil while stirring with the juices still in the pan. I gradually sprinkled in a bit of Wondra flour to thicken it up just a little and then dropped the onions back into the mixture and stirred everything together. I let the whole thing simmer for another 8-10 minutes, stirring every couple of minutes. I prefer to mix the onions into the gravy to give the gravy more of a flavor kick. For the potatoes, I did not add the chicken bouillon; rather, i drizzled a little bit of the beef stock in while I was mashing. When I had mashed the potatoes done and plated, I added the sausage on the potatoes and ladled the gravy mixture over everything. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Yummy comfort food! I made my own gravy because I am not big on canned stuff. Other than that, really great and easy recipe that you could easy tweak to your own taste. Also would recommend salt and pepper for the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
this is a BANGIN recipe (yes pun intended haha) .. the BEST pork sausages/bangers to found here in the states that are the closest to the ones we used in south africa are the Johnsonville Bratwurst Original or Beer brats... they both have the best flavour and texture. take the bangers and roast them uncovered with sliced onions in a 380F oven until crispy and dark golden brown. DO NOT PRICK THEM .. that lets all the juices run out and results in a dry sausage. you dont want a dry sausage do you??? you WANT moist juicy sausage when you bite into it right? I serve that over mashed potatoes made just the way i like it and MAN!! is it good. all my friends BEG me to make this for them whenever i make south african/british comfort food for them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Wow, so easy! I used apple/turkey sausage and herbs d'Provence instead of the oregano. Hubby LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Wonderful meal that always is made in my house during Octoberfest season. I use turkey, beef or chicken sausage & it always turns out supurb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I had never had bangers and mash before but always wanted to try it so I made this recipe. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is what I would call comfort food - left out the onion (allergy to them) and sticked to how I usually make me mashed potatoes. Added some Irish soda bread for an at home St. Paddys day celebration :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Loved it...first time i've made mashed potatoes this way and they were great. Husband raved and had to lay down after eating. Haha. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Loved it. I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CODERRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States