Classic Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
So delicious, light and airy. I added 1 tsp each of cinnamon and vanilla, and a few dashes of nutmeg and allspice. I toasted the walnuts in the oven for 10 minutes before chopping them and mixing into the batter. I baked it for 1 hour, then covered with foil and baked for an additional 10 minutes just to make sure it was cooked all the way through. My 92-year-old dad said it was the best banana bread he had ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very nice banana bread recipe. I added 1tsp vanilla and 1 tsp cinnimon as I always add these to banana bread.Adds a nice flavour. I would use less sugar next time and I subbed chocolate chips for the nuts(allergies).One problem with this recipe is the bake time. Way off. I had to cook mine for 1 hour and 45 min. At 1 hour it was still completely raw in the centre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was a great recipe. Very tasty bread went quick. The only thing since it is so moist cutting a piece it tends to fall apart a little bit. Great recipe and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
the best banana bread i have ever made just came out of the oven, perfect! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Best Banana bread ever. Light and fluffy and very moist. My family LOVES it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was the very first recipe I used to make my very first banana nut bread loaf! It turned out SO wonderful and tasty! I will forever use only this recipe! WOOT :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashmarie
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
My grandmas banana bread was the most important thing at family gatherings. She used buttermilk instead of sour cream and crisco instead of butter. Every one always begs for the recipe, but it's grandma ad my secret. I'll pass it along to my girls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This came out very good - I doubled the recipe, using 5 small bananas, 2 eggs and 1/3 cup egg whites and subbing 1 cup white whole wheat flour, so I used 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour. I also left the salt at 1/2 tsp. The loaves baked up perfectly in one hour, golden brown and moist, but not "gooey" like some banana breads get. Really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was really good, I followed the directions exact except substituting pecans for the walnuts because that's what I had on hand. I did have to bake it about 15-20 minutes longer though...my pan may have been a little smaller causing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I tried this recipe, because I didn't have all the ingredients to make my all time favorite recipe (Banana Sour Cream Bread) that's on here. I omitted the nuts and doubled the recipe to make two loaves. The bread does turn out very moist, but it just is missing a little more sweetness that the other recipe has. This is not a bad one, but the other is still my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States