Classic Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
My favorite banana bread recipe is one my mom got more than 40 years ago from a Home Ec teacher friend. It is a sour cream based banana bread, moist, delicious, and the standard by which I compare any other banana bread recipe I feel like trying. Using that favorite banana bread as a comparison, I find the bread made from this recipe is pale rather than richly golden brown, light and fluffy (more like cake) rather than being dense as a quick bread should be, rather flavorless and not nearly as rich and moist as it should be. Surprising, since this recipe calls for twice the amount of sour cream as mine does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
The bread itself was very moist. I used 2 bananas which equaled 1 c mashed... Next time I would def used 3-4 bananas because the bread wasn't very distinctive. I also added some chunks of chocolate and used whole wheat flour. I baked it for about 50 min. at 350 The second time I baked this I used about 4 bananas skipped the chocolate cuz I didnt have any and added walnuts...very moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I wish my camera wasn't broken. This bread looks SO pretty. I used FF plain yogurt instead of sour cream and added a tsp. of vanilla. I seperated the batter between two greased loaf pans, which made them about half full. I didn't need to cover them halfway through and I didn't have any issues with the bread cooking too quickly on the outside. Very simple bread and the yogurt lends a nice tang. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This is a *great* banana bread recipe! I have started looking for baked goods recipes with sour cream-- my fridge will always be stocked with it from now on. Make sure you add the cinnamon and vanilla-- they forgot to put it in the actual recipe but they have it in the video. I forgot 'til I put the batter in the pan so I put them in there and stirred LOL but obviously this is not ideal! Coating the pan with cinnamon sugar and sprinkling on top with a few extra walnuts (save some!) makes a big difference in presentation and taste of the crust :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
My kids are banana bread freaks so I doubled this recipe right away. I filled a bundt pan and had enough to make 12 additional muffins. This recipe bakes into a nice, fluffy, and moist bread. It's a little more on the "cake" side of the street than the banana bread recipe I am currently using. I've tried a lot of different banana bread recipes. This one ranks right up there with the best of them. We'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Perfect! My Family loved it! I had all of the ingredients in house. I added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. cinnamon, baked for 1 hr. then covered in foil for 10 mins. more. Lasted for about a week and still very moist. Definitely NEEDS NUTS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This came out very good - I doubled the recipe, using 5 small bananas, 2 eggs and 1/3 cup egg whites and subbing 1 cup white whole wheat flour, so I used 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour. I also left the salt at 1/2 tsp. The loaves baked up perfectly in one hour, golden brown and moist, but not "gooey" like some banana breads get. Really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This came out very good and the first banana bread I have made with sour cream. I did like others and added cinnamon and vanilla to the mix and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose and regular sour cream (loaded). Yummy! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Mine came out so pale!I forgot the baking soda and it didnt look like banana bread, but it was still really yummy. i made mine into little muffins and baked it for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States