Classic American-Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I would make this again - but I think I would cut back on the vinegar. I did pour it directly on the potatoes as others suggested so that may be the reason it was so strong. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I really didn't care for this recipe. I guess maybe I just prefer the potato/mayo/celery-type salad, but I know that the texture of the sweet pickles (which I VERY finely chopped) was fairly disturbing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Amazing....couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
We like trying new and different recipes. This was great, just the way it was. Ok we had to add a little garlic since my family loves. Thanks for the post. Will be making it a lot this summer for family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I just made this; exactly as written, except I used dried parsley and Vidalia onions. This has a nice tang to it. It does taste like classic salad that you might get in the deli but, of course, with a homemade boost. I would have liked my potatoes a little softer but I always prefer to err on the side of a little firmer over mushed potatoes. It is very tasty while still a little warm. I will serve it to hubby later and he’s going to love this one. He likes these mustard pickle type potato salads. I always made my potatoes for salad by boiling the cubes I had pre-cut and have never been thrilled at my results. I thought it kind of sped things up but it doesn’t really. Maybe cutting them up first boils some of the flavor out of them. There is something different about the taste of the whole boiled potatoes cut up and mixed with the mayonnaise while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
perfect! This is truly a classic potato salad with the perfect blend of ingredients. Only changes were red onion instead of green out of necessity and I like color. I only had apple cider vinegar and used that instead. An old Sara Molton trick (Sara's secrets Food Network) is to immediately put the vinegar on the potatoes when they are hot and they absorb the flavor. I halved the recipe because I was afraid I would go hog wild. I found the amt. of mayo almost perfect. I added just a dollop of f.f. yogurt for a bit of tang and not add extra fat. My potatoes were red butter potatoes and they were perfect in this. Lovely recipe. I like this and the "summer potato salad" recipe from this site. Thanks for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This is my new potato salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruitchip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This is really good. Having grown up in the South, this is the potato salad that I remember from potlucks and family get-togethers. Next time, I'll add a bit more mustard to spice it up a little more and some of the pickle juice to give it more of a pickle flavor. Better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Excellent recipe! My only "carb vice" is bread. I'm not into potatoes, rice or pasta, however, this salad is very good and found myself having seconds. My family is German/Austrian and we normally make our potato salad the European way. I've had "American Potato Salad" many times, but this was just a little different and very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Best. Potato. Salad. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States