Classic American-Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This is my new potato salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruitchip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I doubled this recipe for a potluck barbecue. It is delicious! I added a little of the pickle juice along with the vinegar, and used a little more mayo than it called for. Keep an eye on the potatoes and don't over cook, which is really the secret to a good potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Best. Potato. Salad. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This is really good. Having grown up in the South, this is the potato salad that I remember from potlucks and family get-togethers. Next time, I'll add a bit more mustard to spice it up a little more and some of the pickle juice to give it more of a pickle flavor. Better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
perfect! This is truly a classic potato salad with the perfect blend of ingredients. Only changes were red onion instead of green out of necessity and I like color. I only had apple cider vinegar and used that instead. An old Sara Molton trick (Sara's secrets Food Network) is to immediately put the vinegar on the potatoes when they are hot and they absorb the flavor. I halved the recipe because I was afraid I would go hog wild. I found the amt. of mayo almost perfect. I added just a dollop of f.f. yogurt for a bit of tang and not add extra fat. My potatoes were red butter potatoes and they were perfect in this. Lovely recipe. I like this and the "summer potato salad" recipe from this site. Thanks for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
We like trying new and different recipes. This was great, just the way it was. Ok we had to add a little garlic since my family loves. Thanks for the post. Will be making it a lot this summer for family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Amazing....couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I just made this; exactly as written, except I used dried parsley and Vidalia onions. This has a nice tang to it. It does taste like classic salad that you might get in the deli but, of course, with a homemade boost. I would have liked my potatoes a little softer but I always prefer to err on the side of a little firmer over mushed potatoes. It is very tasty while still a little warm. I will serve it to hubby later and he’s going to love this one. He likes these mustard pickle type potato salads. I always made my potatoes for salad by boiling the cubes I had pre-cut and have never been thrilled at my results. I thought it kind of sped things up but it doesn’t really. Maybe cutting them up first boils some of the flavor out of them. There is something different about the taste of the whole boiled potatoes cut up and mixed with the mayonnaise while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
There is only one thing to say: YUUUMMMMYYY If you want rave reviews from family and friends, this will do it! It's so easy, even I can do it!! A keeper with a capital K!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Truly a classic. Used small red potatoes, cut before cooking. Used white vinegar in the water resulting in nicely firm (but not hard) pieces. Used Duke's mayo (a southern brand) which is a bit tangier than Hellman's. Mixed all the dressing ingredients separately, substituting olive oil for milk. Then dressed the salad. Skipped the pickles. INCREDIBLE. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States