Classic American-Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I'm rating this with a 5 Star as his was very good, but my family said they still enjoyed mine better... Basically the same recipe without the vinegar... I use regular mustard, sweet AND dill relish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
i have been adding sweet pickles(gherkins) forever,you can use sweet relish in a pinch.Learned from my mother in law,who was from the south
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
FAB-u-lous!! thank you for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
really good.. made it for a bday and all of my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Just the way I like it. Zippy and tangy and without all those fi fi poo poo la la la ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corkypompom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I don't eat potato or macaroni salad but this got polished off quickly. I think I used more mayo and celery but kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
DE-LICIOUS. I have never made a potato salad with eggs and red wine vinegar. Or scallions for that matter. I used to make it very basic, but ALAS! This is fantastic. I went a little heavy on the red wine vinegar, but otherwise it is heavenly. I also chopped my potatoes up a bit smaller since I don't like big chunks. I will make it again and again and plan on toting it to a BBQ ASAP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smessycook7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I made this exactly as written. I was skeptical about the sweet pickles, but man, was the whole thing great! Even my hubby who is particular about potato salad raved. I've tried several potato salad recipes, but this is my new go to recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This definitely is "Classic" American-Style Potato Salad! And it's a great base to put your personal spin on. Potato salads definitely are "classic" picnic food and no matter what your personal preference potato salad is always a hit! I add more eggs and use white wine vinegar vs. red. For the dressing I cut the mayo with sour cream, used a mix of dijon and yellow mustards and always mix the dressing part separate then add it to the potatoes and veggies so it doesn't get mushy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I really liked this potato salad. I did not add in the sweet pickle because that seemed too strange. I used 1 tablespoon Dijon-style mustard and 1 tablespoon (plus a little more) yellow mustard. I also used 5 hard-boiled eggs. I added paprika for color. I feel like there is something missing to make this a five-star, but I'm not sure what it is (more vinegar maybe because I took out the sweet pickle). My husband really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States