Clare's Whole Wheat Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This recipe just makes sense. A marriage between potato, wheat, and honey. The perfect homemade bread! I did have to add aprox 1C extra white flour to make the dough workable, but the texture is amazing as well as the flavor. Excellent texture, color, aroma. This bread was light and moist. In my opinion exactly how homemade bread ought to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
The best wheat recipe ever! after making this a few times I tried: + 3/4 cup oats , only 1 tsp salt, and 1/4 more milk... bake the bread along with a cookie sheet of water! amazing! This makes the best french toast and garlic bread I've ever had! ***** :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Falcon-X

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Excellent bread recipe, will be my go to for wheat bread from now on. Has a great texture, very soft instead of heavy and dense as wheat bread tends to be. My only changes were to use butter instead of margarine, increased the honey to 1/3 cup and I did need extra flour but it's super humid in KC. Made three big loaves, one of which was gone within a couple of hours. Used my kitchen aide to do the kneading with the bread hook for 10mins. For those who said the bread didn't rise well, you might want to alter to steps and proof your yeast with the warm water separately, then add the rest of your ingredients. Also kneading thoroughly makes for better crumb and structure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
i don't like this bread - it tastes okay - but it didn't rise very much and it's so dense - i don't care for the texture... the flavor is okay - i like the honey but i probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is darn good bread! Made it in my bread machine, took it out before the second rise and cooked it from there. Might do a little less yeast next time due to the fact it fell a little in the middle. I'd do a 35-45 minute second rise instead of the hour the recipe calls for. Did 1/2 cup milled flaxseed and only 1 1/2 cup (Bread) flour. Fantastic flavor! Will be great with tonights soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This is the best whole wheat bread recipe I have ever tried. I did need to add one more cup of flour. I used bread flour and King Arthur's whole wheat flour. The bread is moist and has a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. I found it to be ver easy and my family loved it. The texture made it perfect for sandwiches the next day. We shared 1 loaf with a neighbor,who is now asking when I'll be making it again. Definitely recommend trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Made 3 very large loaves...will make 4 next time. Very tasty, beautiful loaf. 30 mins baking for high alt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fallingapot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Magdalena, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is the best (and easiest) homemade bread recipe! My nine year old loves to help me make it. It slices up nicely for sandwiches or to just eat with butter--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great bread. I didn't need to add any extra flour, contrary to what others have said. It was such nice soft bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States