Clare's Whole Wheat Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
The best wheat recipe ever! after making this a few times I tried: + 3/4 cup oats , only 1 tsp salt, and 1/4 more milk... bake the bread along with a cookie sheet of water! amazing! This makes the best french toast and garlic bread I've ever had! ***** :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Falcon-X

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Made 3 very large loaves...will make 4 next time. Very tasty, beautiful loaf. 30 mins baking for high alt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Piccioni-Hann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Magdalena, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This recipe just makes sense. A marriage between potato, wheat, and honey. The perfect homemade bread! I did have to add aprox 1C extra white flour to make the dough workable, but the texture is amazing as well as the flavor. Excellent texture, color, aroma. This bread was light and moist. In my opinion exactly how homemade bread ought to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. I found it to be ver easy and my family loved it. The texture made it perfect for sandwiches the next day. We shared 1 loaf with a neighbor,who is now asking when I'll be making it again. Definitely recommend trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This is the best whole wheat bread recipe I have ever tried. I did need to add one more cup of flour. I used bread flour and King Arthur's whole wheat flour. The bread is moist and has a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This bread has a wonderful texture and taste. I had to add an extra 1/2 cp. whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great bread. I didn't need to add any extra flour, contrary to what others have said. It was such nice soft bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is the best (and easiest) homemade bread recipe! My nine year old loves to help me make it. It slices up nicely for sandwiches or to just eat with butter--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
What an awesome bread. Great taste and texture. I used betty crocker instant creamy butter potatos, butter instead of margerine and I also used an additional cup of white flour in the end. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I thought this was a wonderful recipe. My daughter loves Potato Bread so I tried this for her. I did two things differently that absolutely do not take away from this receipe, it's just the ingredients I had. I keep yeast for bread making so did not use the individual packets and I used oil in my bread instead of margarine. I came up with two beautiful loaves of bread and I will use this recipe again. Just a BTW to Pam's review: I have learned that depending on the humidity, the amount of flour can vary even within any yeast bread recipe. Don't worry about it just keep a little extra flour out and available while you are putting this or any bread recipe together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States