Clare's Whole Wheat Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This recipe just makes sense. A marriage between potato, wheat, and honey. The perfect homemade bread! I did have to add aprox 1C extra white flour to make the dough workable, but the texture is amazing as well as the flavor. Excellent texture, color, aroma. This bread was light and moist. In my opinion exactly how homemade bread ought to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This bread required more flour than the recipe called for. I used about 1 cup more and still had a really soft dough. The final result tasted pretty good though. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. I found it to be ver easy and my family loved it. The texture made it perfect for sandwiches the next day. We shared 1 loaf with a neighbor,who is now asking when I'll be making it again. Definitely recommend trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This is the best whole wheat bread recipe I have ever tried. I did need to add one more cup of flour. I used bread flour and King Arthur's whole wheat flour. The bread is moist and has a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This bread has a wonderful texture and taste. I had to add an extra 1/2 cp. whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe was horrible. There must be a mistake. Even as I poured the liquid into the dry ingredients I noted that it seemed very much liquid.It was impossible to knead and I ended up adding as much flour as I had already used to get a somewhat useable dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
i don't like this bread - it tastes okay - but it didn't rise very much and it's so dense - i don't care for the texture... the flavor is okay - i like the honey but i probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This bread turned out perfectly, I halfed the recipe and ended up adding about 1 1/2 cups of flour. I mixed and raised it in my breadmaker and then raised it again in the oven where I baked it. Flavor was good, thought it could more honey or maybe some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This is a great recipe! I used it to make hamburger buns. Very chewy and delicious! The dough is very sticky but resist the urge to keep adding flour since that will make them heavy. Once they are on the cookie sheet they bake up perfectly. Beware...they grow a lot while baking so leave plenty of space!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is darn good bread! Made it in my bread machine, took it out before the second rise and cooked it from there. Might do a little less yeast next time due to the fact it fell a little in the middle. I'd do a 35-45 minute second rise instead of the hour the recipe calls for. Did 1/2 cup milled flaxseed and only 1 1/2 cup (Bread) flour. Fantastic flavor! Will be great with tonights soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States