Clare's Whole Wheat Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
What an awesome bread. Great taste and texture. I used betty crocker instant creamy butter potatos, butter instead of margerine and I also used an additional cup of white flour in the end. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is the best (and easiest) homemade bread recipe! My nine year old loves to help me make it. It slices up nicely for sandwiches or to just eat with butter--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
The best wheat recipe ever! after making this a few times I tried: + 3/4 cup oats , only 1 tsp salt, and 1/4 more milk... bake the bread along with a cookie sheet of water! amazing! This makes the best french toast and garlic bread I've ever had! ***** :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Falcon-X

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great bread. I didn't need to add any extra flour, contrary to what others have said. It was such nice soft bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Easy for a novice bread baker and yummy flavor--especially good warm with just a light slathering of butter! It did turn out to be somewhat denser than I expected. I also liked that it kept well; I just wrapped it in plastic and it was good for a whole week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I really love the texture and taste of this bread, but while slicing it half the slices fell apart. Just seems a bit fragile, so I might decrease the potato flakes next time to see if that's the issue. Or, I suppose it could be my knife. Otherwise, loved it. Light wheat flavor and perfect for sandwiches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is darn good bread! Made it in my bread machine, took it out before the second rise and cooked it from there. Might do a little less yeast next time due to the fact it fell a little in the middle. I'd do a 35-45 minute second rise instead of the hour the recipe calls for. Did 1/2 cup milled flaxseed and only 1 1/2 cup (Bread) flour. Fantastic flavor! Will be great with tonights soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This is a great recipe! I used it to make hamburger buns. Very chewy and delicious! The dough is very sticky but resist the urge to keep adding flour since that will make them heavy. Once they are on the cookie sheet they bake up perfectly. Beware...they grow a lot while baking so leave plenty of space!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This bread turned out perfectly, I halfed the recipe and ended up adding about 1 1/2 cups of flour. I mixed and raised it in my breadmaker and then raised it again in the oven where I baked it. Flavor was good, thought it could more honey or maybe some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
i don't like this bread - it tastes okay - but it didn't rise very much and it's so dense - i don't care for the texture... the flavor is okay - i like the honey but i probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States