Claremont Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I made this as written as I usually do the first time making a recipe. I took it to a picnic the next day and it was wonderful! I think next time, though, I will try using half as much sugar as one reviewer did. Just because the recipe calls for so much. Hopefully it won't change the taste to much?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I had our son and daughter in law visiting from CT and this was an exceptional salad I changed nothing and will make it several times this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I take this to our small group meetings at church. Our friends love it. I add bell pepper strips for a little more color and use bagged angel hair cole slaw to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My mother made this for us growing up and recently sent me the recipe. I make a bunch, leave it in the fridge and snack on it all week. I absolutely love this salad!! It has a strong garlic/onion taste (which I prefer) so be prepared. Definitely one of my top 10 favorite things to make of all times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
excellent, used 10 oz bag presliced cabbage, 2 cukes and 2.5 carrots and 3/4 large onion with 1 teaspoon celery seed and only 1 teaspoon of salt. Couldn't wait for it to marinate, had it the first day then for the rest of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EIKNIP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Yummy! To make low-carb, I subbed in colorful red, yellow and orange peppers, and 4 packets of stevia for the sugar. Was a huge hit at the family picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Great salad and easy to make. It took longer to clean the food processor than preparing it. Tastes great with 1 tsp of salt and reduces the sodium content by 2/3's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Yummy! I loved the sweet/sour combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
My Mom has been making this for years. I find it important to cut all the vegetables slightly differently for more texture. I use cider vinegar as well and add green peppers. I know this recipe as Claremont Diner Coleslaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna B
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I've been looking for a Claremont Salad recipe, and this one is so close to what I wanted. I doubled the recipe, and added thinly sliced celery (6 stalks). I also used 3-16 oz. bags of very thinly shredded cabbage from the produce section of my grocery to save on time. The end result is wonderful and was a huge hit at the family gathering that I made it for. Very light and refreshing on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States