Claremont Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I don’t know anything about the Claremont Diner’s salad, so I had no problem tinkering with the recipe. I doubled the dressing and substituted cider vinegar for about half of the white vinegar and olive oil for half of the vegetable oil. I also added some black pepper and about 2 t. of celery seed to the dressing. I grated the carrots instead of slicing and omitted the onions because my husband isn’t crazy about them. I’m sure the salad is better after chilling for several hours, but I enjoyed it right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna B
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I've been looking for a Claremont Salad recipe, and this one is so close to what I wanted. I doubled the recipe, and added thinly sliced celery (6 stalks). I also used 3-16 oz. bags of very thinly shredded cabbage from the produce section of my grocery to save on time. The end result is wonderful and was a huge hit at the family gathering that I made it for. Very light and refreshing on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was good when I made it the first time as written. I was looking for a way to use up garden cabbage and cucumber at the same time. It tastes better after sitting a day. The second time I made it, I upped the vinegar to 1 cup, decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup, ommited the water, added some black pepper and a small yellow pepper I had from the garden. (I didn't have celery seed, but I want to try that in it next time.) After sitting in the fridge all day, it tasted great at dinner. My BF loved it. Thanks for a new way to make cole slaw without mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This is excellent. I grew up eating at the Claremont Diner and it's right on the money. Make it a day in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Yummy! I loved the sweet/sour combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
My Mom has been making this for years. I find it important to cut all the vegetables slightly differently for more texture. I use cider vinegar as well and add green peppers. I know this recipe as Claremont Diner Coleslaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This is the first time I ahve ever seen this recipe in print. I too grew up eating at the Claremont Diner. Not only that, but my grandmother made this very often. I am now in the food service industry, have tweaked the recipe just a bit, as so many people in my area seem to have a strange aversion to onions. But it is a MAJOR favorite at any type function, and a much requested dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summit, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
My family really likes this slaw. Also it keeps well for several days, so I can plan several meals around it for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This was the best! It tastes better as the days go by. It's like a cole slaw, but the sauce really makes it fantastic! Thanks for the recipe Rebecca! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Great way to get a few servings of veggies, but turned out way too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States