Clara's White German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
This is well worth the effort. I got lots of compliments, and loved how light it was. It's a great alternative to a heavier dark chocolate version. I used cream cheese frosting in the middle, and frosted the rest with a traditional german chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I made this for my husband's birthday since I don't have a homemade white cake recipe. It was very easy to make but we all found it rather on the sweet side and I didn't even add the coconut or nuts since my husband doesn't like nuts. I'm going to see if others try this and make some suggestions on cutting out the sweetness. Only thing I can think of is cutting amount of white chocolate squares or cutting them out all together. I'll try this one more time and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I thought this was a great recipe. I found the batter to be super thick and the cake a little dry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is the second time I made this cake. I found the cake to be a bit on the sweet side, so the second time I cut the sugar to 1-1/2 cups and added 3 oz white chocolate. That helped. Also, I made the cream cheese frosting, but cut down on the quanity of cream cheese. It is a delightfully light cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is a must have cake. One of the best cakes around. A lot of eggs and a lot of work but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I was a little intimidated when I read the recipe but I was up for the challenge. It was really not that difficult and it came out so good in the end. My family said it belonged in a gourmet bakery, it was so pretty and the cake was really light and fluffy. I save this one for special occassions or when I want to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smithsihp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Excellent consistency and texture. This is the most delicious "from scratch" cake that I have ever tasted! My husband and 2 eight year olds gave it an A+ rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I have been searching for a rich and creamy moderately dense white cake and this is it! Try it, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Flavor this gets a 5 star, recipe it's a three star, so I will give it a four. There were two major recipe problems - one is that the ingredient list calls for chopped chocoloate, then the recipe calls for melted chocolate with no step for melting. The second problem was with the sifting instructions. It calls for 2.5 C of sifted cake flour, but then the directions tell you to sift the flour with the baking soda and salt. For recipe semantics this was hard - do I sift once, measure and then sift again with other ingredients or did it really intend for 2.5 C flour, sifted. For the wet ingredients I decided that 2.5 C flour was appropropriate, so I sifted after measuring, but after eating I decided that I should have done a double sift, which would have resulted in a lighter cake with more rise to it. The comma was truly important here and I wonder if many of the complaints about the denseness could have alleviated with some clearer sifting direction. Anyway - the tast was wonderful - I ended up with little slivers of the white chocolate (since I didn't pre-melt). I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I love this recipe. It is now the only one I use for birthday cakes. I also use dark chocolate as well when chocolate cake is the flavor of the day:) I found the cake super moist, slightly dense(like I wanted) with a soft crumb. Beautiful. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States