Clapshot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Good recipe! I overcooked it a bit but that's on me; it would have been better if it were just a tad lumpier and less smooth. I threw in a couple cloves of garlic to boil with everything and smashed those up too, which added a nice touch of flavor to the recipe. I'll definitely be trying these again next time I get turnips from my farm share! With the leftovers I'm refrigerating them overnight so they'll set up and in the morning I'll make little balls from it and fry them in some oil. A tasty leftover treat for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremiah Fargo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherrill, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Amazing! My 4y daughter was reading a book this morning about bunnies eating carrots and turnips. She did not know what a turnip was so we hunted down this recipe. After looking at other reviews that it was a bit bland, I took the recommendation of cooking in chicken broth and adding more salt. I also added the tiniest dash of garlic and onion powders (maybe 1/8-1/4 tsp). My daughter deemed it better than regular mashed potatoes and I could have eaten nothing but this for dinner. Super tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This needed a healthy pinch of salt, but otherwise was pretty good - a nice change from regular mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I was given turnips and I had no idea what to do with them so I tried this and I was very glad! It's wonderful!! As a matter of fact I made it for the children at my child care center and they ate them all up!! I just added salt and pepper, butter and milk instead of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
If your looking for something a little different then this might be a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
We call this root mousse. My family loves it and it's the only way I eat turnip! We've been making this since my son got the recipe while in culinary tech school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I, and my siblings grew up on this dish. When I would tell my grade school friends, the reaction was " eew, turnip?" So I finally asked my mum what this dish was called she said " my invention". Well, we all loved it even if it didn't have a real name. WhenI was in college, I asked her again. This time the answer was " Nannie ( her grandmother from Ireland) taught me. So, OK. When I once more asked her in my fifties, she said "I like mashed potatoes, and I really love turnip but I don't like carrots at all. So Nannie made this combination so I would "eat those carrots!!" When I became a mother I did the same thing so that I could "eat my carrots", and never let the children know that I didn't like 'em."See what a mother will do for her children?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is always good and we have been making it for years (my mother did too) but this is the first time I knew it had a name.......thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is exactly like the dish my mother-in-law used to make and she was of French-Canadian descent - the family always asks for it when we get together and I have had company rave about it as a substitute for plain mashed potatoes - the turnip does not come through on its own as all the flavors blend well. I usually use a little more potato to equal amounts of turnip and carrot and milk rather than cream, although I like the idea of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I make this often although I never had a name for it nor a recipe. We call it "root vegetables mixture". I also add cooked beets to the mixture when I mash it all together. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States