Clams Kokkinisto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Yummy! ...I'm so glad this was listed in the Daily Recipes section; otherwise, I'm not sure I would have come across it. Absolutely delicious -- and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_i_n_a

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Nik Louvros
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was absolutely amazing! Everything about this recipe was awesome, from preparation to eating the leftovers the next day! This is definitely easy to prepare, and was fun to make with the kids. The aroma throughout the house was spell bounding and the taste is wonderful. For me it bought back memories of when I was visiting my family in Corfu and is the perfect comfort food. I added the extra clams, not because of just what the other reviewers suggested, but because I love clams as well. I also sprinkled a little feta cheese on top and man oh man, everyones plates were clean. I HIGHLY suggest this recipe and will be making it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was excellent. I added an extra can of clams, with juice, an extra can of tomato paste, for a richer tomato flavor. And definantly top with feta. Great flavor! I hate when I stuff myself wich I usually don't, but this was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I would give this six stars if I could. It's so easy and delicious. The clams w/the tomatos and feta make such a yummy blend! I've made this half a dozen times and it gets rave reviews. I just do the Pillsbury French bread loaf as a side and it is so terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Now our favourite family pasta. It works best by being generous with the olive oil and slow cooking in creuset type covered pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
It's funny...when it's been awhile since I've found a 5-star recipe, I start to get antsy and try to give 5 stars to 3- or 4-star recipes. It takes a recipe like this to bring me back down to earth and remind me that there IS such a thing as a TRUE 5-STAR RECIPE!! This dish is absolutely AWESOME. I would totally go to a restaurant JUST to eat this meal. It's super easy to make, it looks pretty, and HOLY CRUD does it taste GOOD. The only change I made was to double the clams (extra clams were drained). I served it over whole wheat pasta and topped with feta, as suggested by the recipe submitter. Thanks so much to Jennifer AND her mother-in-law for this perfect recipe. :-) UPDATE: I made this again tonight with what I had on hand. I was not able to add the extra clams or top with feta. Man, what a DIFFERENCE!! Tonight's version was on the "good" side of "Ok." From now on, I will ALWAYS make sure to double the clams and top with feta!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was FABULOUS!!!!!! I do love clams so I may be a bit biased. I used garlic peeled tomatoes and doubled the amount of garlic called for and also doubled the amount of clams (minus the juice on the doubling portions). The flavours in this sauce were wonderful!!!! I would rate this in my top 5 pasta dishes ever. I rate this a 10 star recipe and my husband rated it a 4.5 star recipe. We would both want this again on our regular rotation. I served this with a salad and some garlic bread. I also served the dish over spaghetti with feta cheese. When I make this dish again (which I definitely will!) I will use all fresh tomatoes in place of the canned. I think with all the spices in this dish...the fresh tomatoes would be an amazing enhancement. This was a GREAT one!! A MUST try...especially if you love garlic and clams like we do!!! Thank you!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Similar to Manhatten Clam Chowder but thicker. I made this for my little brother and his "Muddin' Redneck Buddies." I paired this with a Tuscan dipping sauce and a good crusty french bread that ripped apart. They all looked at me like I'd plopped them into a 5-star restaurant! They were cautious on the first bite - but before long I realized that not an ounce was left over! I really didn't divert from the recipe except by adding some additional italian herbs and hot sauce! PS. Now they are always asking my little brother when I'm cooking for them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBROSIA1968

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I thought this was EXCELLENT considering how easy it was. Very few dishes that use canned ingredients will have such a lovely flavor. I used two 6.5 oz cans of chopped clams (undrained) and two 6.5 oz cans of chopped clams (drained). I only used chopped because I already had these on hand. I don't think this hurt the dish but I will try whole clams next time. I also used 6 cloves of garlic instead of four. As suggested, I topped each plate with feta and served over angel hair pasta. The feta is a MUST. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Delicious - I added some real clams too for impact and served over Angel Hair Pasta, perfect sauce and spice blend, and the FEta made the real difference. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States