Clams Kokkinisto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nik Louvros
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was absolutely amazing! Everything about this recipe was awesome, from preparation to eating the leftovers the next day! This is definitely easy to prepare, and was fun to make with the kids. The aroma throughout the house was spell bounding and the taste is wonderful. For me it bought back memories of when I was visiting my family in Corfu and is the perfect comfort food. I added the extra clams, not because of just what the other reviewers suggested, but because I love clams as well. I also sprinkled a little feta cheese on top and man oh man, everyones plates were clean. I HIGHLY suggest this recipe and will be making it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was FABULOUS!!!!!! I do love clams so I may be a bit biased. I used garlic peeled tomatoes and doubled the amount of garlic called for and also doubled the amount of clams (minus the juice on the doubling portions). The flavours in this sauce were wonderful!!!! I would rate this in my top 5 pasta dishes ever. I rate this a 10 star recipe and my husband rated it a 4.5 star recipe. We would both want this again on our regular rotation. I served this with a salad and some garlic bread. I also served the dish over spaghetti with feta cheese. When I make this dish again (which I definitely will!) I will use all fresh tomatoes in place of the canned. I think with all the spices in this dish...the fresh tomatoes would be an amazing enhancement. This was a GREAT one!! A MUST try...especially if you love garlic and clams like we do!!! Thank you!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanD112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
It's funny...when it's been awhile since I've found a 5-star recipe, I start to get antsy and try to give 5 stars to 3- or 4-star recipes. It takes a recipe like this to bring me back down to earth and remind me that there IS such a thing as a TRUE 5-STAR RECIPE!! This dish is absolutely AWESOME. I would totally go to a restaurant JUST to eat this meal. It's super easy to make, it looks pretty, and HOLY CRUD does it taste GOOD. The only change I made was to double the clams (extra clams were drained). I served it over whole wheat pasta and topped with feta, as suggested by the recipe submitter. Thanks so much to Jennifer AND her mother-in-law for this perfect recipe. :-) UPDATE: I made this again tonight with what I had on hand. I was not able to add the extra clams or top with feta. Man, what a DIFFERENCE!! Tonight's version was on the "good" side of "Ok." From now on, I will ALWAYS make sure to double the clams and top with feta!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Really Really good. I added an extra can of clams (drained) and used diced tamatoes with spices already in them. Served over angel hair pasta with feta sprinkled on top. Everyone really liked this. We are fighting over who gets the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Now our favourite family pasta. It works best by being generous with the olive oil and slow cooking in creuset type covered pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
This was a wonderful clam sauce. Served it over pasta with the feta cheese. It was so easy and very tasty. I will definetly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This recipe is delicious. I've been eyeing it up for a while and finally gave it a whirl. I've never tried clams and had bought a can out of curiosity. I halved the recipe as there are only the two of us, and had to leave out the celery because I didn't have any. I used small diced canned tomatoes that were already flavoured with garlic and olive oil for an extra little hit of garlic. Instead of salt, I added a smidge of sugar which I love in tomato sauces, served over pasta shells which seemed appropriate, and topped with feta which I grated instead of crumbling. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very tasty, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I must admit that I was a little "iffy" at the thought of using CANNED clams....I'm not much of a canned items user but this was FANTASTIC.....delicate flavor....nice texture.....healthy....inexpensive.....tastes like a restaurant meal! I like the fact that the ingredients in this recipe uses most of the staples regularly in my pantry anyway (save the clams which just may become a part of my pantry after this recipe). I mostly followed the directions as is except that I read thru all the reviews and then added what most people recommended.....double the clams. Next time I will add 2 more garlic cloves (I'm one of those people who can never have enough garlic), add a little more red pepper flake, and perhaps some chopped bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyCeltic
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Delicious! It is Lent and I am looking for delicious recipes that we can enjoy instead of the same old tuna casserole. This dish was incredible! I did not add feta, as I gave up cheese for lent, but when I make this again, I will definatley add the feta! I am sure that would this awesome recipe even better! Thank you for such a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyCeltic

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States