Clams Casino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I modified this recipe so it was clams casino instead of stuffed clams. The only thing I did different was not take the clams out to chop them up. I put the mixture directly on top of the clams in the shell and baked it. I also used littleneck clams (it was all the store had). They came out very good. The only thing I will change the next time I make them is to decrease the amount of bread crumbs. Since the clams were not mixed in with the stuffing the pepper, bacon, and onion flavor was a little overpowered by the bread crumbs. This was a great recipe and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
This is NOT a recipe for clams casino! This is a recipe for stuffed clams! Clams casino is a small clam topped with bacon and (a sprinkling of)breadcrumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This is a recipe, as others said, for stuffed clams. I used 24 small clams, put them in their shell whole, then topped with the mixture to make it more like clams casino. I only used about 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs, as someone suggested, and it turned out to be the perfect amount of topping for my clams. Also, it took about 10 minutes for my clams to open in the oven. Very tasty though...my boyfriend gobbled them all up by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Very tasty and fairly easy to make, too! Next time I will only use 3/4 cup bread crumbs, but overall, this is a DELICIOUS recipe for clams casino. We baked our clams in muffin cups, which reserved the juice and made the clams all the more tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I have made this twice and perfected it to my family's tastes. I changed two things. Rather than chop the clams and mix them in, I simply loosened them from their shell and put the filling on top of them. I also cut the amount of bread crumbs down to about 1/3 cup. That said the flavors and spice mixture of this recipe are perfection! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Glen Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good. A half of a recipe was perfect for 18 Little Neck clams. I did not remove the clams. They sure didn't last long...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This was very good. I halved the recipe. I used turkey bacon, mixture of red,yellow, and green peppers, and less breadcrumbs. Everything else as directed and it was really very good. I bought 2 dozen little neck clams and mixture was just right... Dripped lemon juice on just before cooking and just just after... Great Valentines Day Treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Be warned, use the larger clams (as directed). My seafood market only had fresh littleneck clams, so we used those. Tasty, but more bready than clammy. I did use the the noted amount of oil/butter, and they were a little dry. I bet if we could have found larger clams, the recipe would have been less dry, as there would have been more natural juices. I'll try it again when I can find the larger fellas! Either way, I recommend serving it with some hot sauce on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
I love this clams casino recipe, but use less bread crumbs. My family likes lots of clams and prefers not to be filled up with the breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
Better than store bought clams casino! the best I ever tasted! My entire family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States