Clams and Chourico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Great recipe. I pulled it up as an alternative cooking clams in white wine. Make sure you use a brown beer or similar. Like another poster said you can skip the cornmeal step if you purchased your clams already cleaned up at a fish market. In my view the olive oil does not add much to the overall flavor and I reduced it to two tablespoons which was more than enough to fry the garlic. The sausage will add enough oil of its own to fry everything else. Finally, you do end up with a LOT of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Outstanding recipe!!! I started by steaming 50 small clams separately and using that broth instead of bottled. I added 1lb each of fresh squid,shrimp and scallops simmered for 5 minutes and then added spices and steamed shelled clams. What a seafood sensation. Plenty of toasted sour dough bread along with a nice chianti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Excellent! I followed this recipe as written, except using petite diced tomatoes instead of crushed, and chicken broth instead of clam juice. I used Redhook ESB for the beer. Nicely done, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was very good. It cooked up very fast too. I agree with previous reviewers - Portuguese chourico is absolutely a must. I had to go on a bit of a mission to find it locally but it was definitely worth it. I can imagine that the flavours would not have developed correctly without the chourico. This was delicious. It was a bit soupy though - lots of liquid left over after simmering the clams. I'm not complaining and neither is my fiancee; however plan on lots of crusty French bread so you can sop up all the broth. This is a good meal for a chilly day, lucky for us it was raining up here yesterday. It is a bit heavy so I'd hesitate to serve this on a hot summer day. Overall, delicious. I'll be adding this to my meal rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is a really great clam recipe. The cornmeal is to get the sand out of the clams, so unless you're harvesting your own you can probably skip that step. This is also great with mussels. Spanish or Portuguese chourico is the key, you can't use the Mexican kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was terrific! Unique and flavorful. It's pretty easy to make, depending on your knife skills. The presentation is impressive, too. Overall, pretty romantic and cozy - it would make a good date night if you're not afraid of the garlic! The only thing I will change in the future is to add seafood stock in place of the clam juice. It was a tad too salty for me, and I think that was mostly from the high sodium content of the clam juice. I used precooked Spanish chorizo, and it worked wonderfully. All that simmering makes it tender. Great recipe, thanks so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
i agree with another poster to use "portugese" churico.... and not the kind you find pre-packaged in the market. go to a portugese or spanish meat market for the homemade stuff. it really does make a big difference. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Kev, anything you make is worth 5 stars to me!!!!!!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Great recipe and was an instant hit. One major note is to use pure Portuguese chourico, not spanish or mexican, for a truly delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This recipe is a dead ringer for the Clams Del Diablo we had at Thee Oceanaire Seafood Room in Seattle, and it's not your father's steamed clam dish, either! Loads of flavor & just enough heat to keep things interesting. I'll be serviing it again this weekend! I used Negro Modelo beer keeping with the Latin theme of the recipe. Two notes: make sure you use Spanish chorizo, and not Mexican. Spanish chorizo is more like pepperoni and isn't a wet sausage like it's Mexican cousin. I also doubled the garlic, and am glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States