Clam with Tomato and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Not impressed at all! Basically was a regular tomato soup but "beefed up". Still tasted ok, bust was disappointed. Even used suggestions of less tomato sauce, crushed red pepper etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was pretty good. It seemed like it was missing something, not sure what though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This is incredibly popular in my house. I made a batch (again) last night and most of it is gone - and there are just 3 of us. Changes I make: 2 instead of one can of clams; 1 15-oz can of diced tomatoes in place of 2 of the cans of tomato sauce; and either I add a bit of crushed red pepper, or one of the cans of tomato sauce I do use is Goya picante (hot) flavored tomato sauce (because practically anything with tomatoes is better with a little pepper, even if it's so little you can't put your finger on what's there). Oh, and I use a 12-oz can condensed milk instead of cream and dried instead of fresh basil (because they're always in my pantry, like all the other ingredients of this soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I don't really understand why people liked this recipe. I didn't care for it and I did everything the recipe said. Very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I followed this recipe as directed but added a little bit more clams. It was easy to make and tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I was a little nervous about clams and rice together. I should have listened to that sense. I often try to upgrade a ho-hum recipe on my next try, but I don't think I'll come back to this one in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This soup was incredibly good! I did use more clams, 1 lb of frozen chopped and instead of water I used clam broth...will definately be making this again and again...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
After reading the reviews, I tweaked the recipe to my own thoughts. I doubled the amount of clams and also subbed the one cup of water at the end with an 8 oz. bottle of clam juice. I had no problem with the acidity of the tomato sauce. Best new soup recipe that I've come across in quite awhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I gave this 4 stars because it was a fantastic idea and made a wonderful base for me to change. With the tweaking, my husband and I give it 5 stars. Here is what I changed: 1 cup of rice, white onion instead of red, 10 oz can whole baby clams undrained, 1 cup corn, 1 15oz can tomato sauce, 1 cup milk instead of cream. In addition I also used a half can of diced tomatoes and some crushed red pepper. I also didn't simmer as long. I think clams get rubbery if cooked a long time so I didn't chance it. I just served it when the corn was done which was after about 10 min. Everything else in the recipe I kept the same. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is wonderful soup! I also added 1 can Italian diced tomatoes. I used 2 cans of minced clams (undrained)and I added a little (maybe 1-2 tablespoons) sugar to blend out the flavors. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States