Clam Sauce with Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Having lived in Italy, I can tell you first hand, adding cheese to fish or shellfish is a major no no. The first time I did that in a restaurant in Italy, I felt the entire table of Italians stop and stare at me! That aside, this was a good recipe, I left out the mushrooms and did grate a bit of lemon peel into the sauce. This is also yummy using fava beans in place of the mushrooms (double peel the beans). Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammamoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I have made a version of this for years. I use olive oil instead of butter, and just add a tbsp. of butter at the end, as another reviewer mentioned. I also add a little white wine, if I have it on hand. And if I want to amp it up, I 'll also add fresh clams in the shell along with the canned. For us, the more clams the better. We love this meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I use fresh clams and no cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eastport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe! I added a splash of dry vermuth and simmered a bit right before adding the pasta. It makes such a difference, giving it more of a sophisticated, adult flavor. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I used the same way , except no butter (cuts down fats, and Cholesterol) used Olive oil instead and added a small amount of butter at the end to give it a buttery feel. I also added white wine and served the Parmesan on the side that way does that like their clam taste can be happy. I always steam 1 dozen fresh clams on the shell, makes it so pretty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
added milk and flour, pinch of red pepper flakes, splash of white wine--YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Great recipe. I reduced the butter by half and added 2 table spoons of olive oil. I also added a 1/3 cup white wine. Perfect dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I love this recipe. I've made it twice already. Once with mushrooms and once without. It's great both ways. NOTE: I reduced the amount of butter and added 1/2 cup white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
try with melting anchovies into olive oil to start out. Add red onion, bay leaves, lemon zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I changed the servings for 2, and used one 10 oz. can of clams. Also used a total of 2 1/2 tsp of garlic and added oregano. I halved the salt and pepper. Ate with garlic bread and it was an easy, tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States