Clam Sauce with Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
THIS IS EVEN BETTER IF YOU ADD A BIT OF FLOUR TO THE BUTTER, THEN ADD THE CLAM JUICE THEN FINALLY THE CLAMS TO WARM THEM. IT ALSO WORKS WELL AS A 'CLAM SAUCE PIZZA TOPPING IF YOU MAKE IT THICK ENOUGH. MICHAEL DEVITA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I made it exactly like the recipe says. I will not make it again. It was edible but too much like a canned sauce. All the other reviewers changed the recipe. I would suggest you do the same. I would add more mushrooms. I would cook the sauce down - it was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is soo good. I did tweek it with sour cream and old bay and added some evaporated milk to make a creamier sauce and thickened it with corn starch. I also used 10 oz can of whole baby clams. I doubled for my family, even the kids liked it. I just did not tell them it had clams in it. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Berry Boss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dickinson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Very simple and quick recipe. I would add cream as a thickener and do justice to a white clamshell pasta sprinkled with bits of green Italian parsley. Yes, reduce the butter to half. White wine, too after garlic has browned and before adding clamshell and juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This dish is absolutely amazing! I made a few changes, as did other reviewers, but I didn't stray too far from the original recipe. I took suggestions of a few and used 1/4 c. butter and 1/4 c. olive oil and used 4 cloves of garlic. I used portabello mushrooms because I love the meatness they add to a dish - fantastic! Because the type of parsely wasn't specified, I used Italian parsley (a favorite of mine), but only used 1/4 cup. I used another suggestion to use Old Bay Seasoning - very good! I mixed a little cornstartch with some of the reserved clam juice (as the juice from both cans would be too much, which was obvious after the first can) to thicken the sauce slightly. I would be delighted to serve this dish to guests. White wine, crusty french bread and candles would make it a phenomenal romantic meal! Thanks for the recipe, Silvia. It will be a mainstay in my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ely, Nevada, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
The dish is delicious, but if your going to use a picture that has fresh clams in the shell, it really ought to be in the recipe. I would rather use fresh instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Having lived in Italy, I can tell you first hand, adding cheese to fish or shellfish is a major no no. The first time I did that in a restaurant in Italy, I felt the entire table of Italians stop and stare at me! That aside, this was a good recipe, I left out the mushrooms and did grate a bit of lemon peel into the sauce. This is also yummy using fava beans in place of the mushrooms (double peel the beans). Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammamoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I have made a version of this for years. I use olive oil instead of butter, and just add a tbsp. of butter at the end, as another reviewer mentioned. I also add a little white wine, if I have it on hand. And if I want to amp it up, I 'll also add fresh clams in the shell along with the canned. For us, the more clams the better. We love this meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I use fresh clams and no cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eastport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe! I added a splash of dry vermuth and simmered a bit right before adding the pasta. It makes such a difference, giving it more of a sophisticated, adult flavor. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States