Clam Sauce with Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was deeeeeeeeelish! Linquine with clams is my all time favorite meal, but the addition of mushrooms takes it OVER THE TOP! I had some baby portabellas which were simply amazing in this dish. Like other reviewers, I did half butter and half olive oil and I can honestly say it was better than any restaurant! So simple and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Very good! Has been added to our favorites file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is just a basic starter recipe of which you can adjust to your liking. Being Italian, and my wife and I liking this dish, I can make some recommendations. First of all you should add a can, or jar of baby WHOLE clams in with the chopped clams. Much more meaty. Secondly, after the garlic has lightly browned deglaze the pan with 1/3 cup dry white wine or dry sherry (NOT the cooking wine stuff). And lastly, Chopped basil has much more flavor than parsley. And another thing. What is this with all complaints of the sauce being "to runny"? It's supposed to be runny!! Any Italian, or most anybody who likes this dish knows that you eat it with bread. And you use the bread to sop up the "runny" sauce. And don't complain about "that's to much bread" because it only takes about two small slices of Italian bread to do the job. If you're gonna do it, do it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Easy and delishes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Upon reading the reviews I made the following changes: (1) Instead of 1/2 cup butter I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup EVOO (2) I added 1 cup of sauvignon blanc (3) I added a few dollops of sour cream (4) I thickened the sauce with corn starch (5) I added 1/4 of grated parmesan cheese. Ultimately, I enjoyed it very much and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElleDeThurmont

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
THIS IS EVEN BETTER IF YOU ADD A BIT OF FLOUR TO THE BUTTER, THEN ADD THE CLAM JUICE THEN FINALLY THE CLAMS TO WARM THEM. IT ALSO WORKS WELL AS A 'CLAM SAUCE PIZZA TOPPING IF YOU MAKE IT THICK ENOUGH. MICHAEL DEVITA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I made it exactly like the recipe says. I will not make it again. It was edible but too much like a canned sauce. All the other reviewers changed the recipe. I would suggest you do the same. I would add more mushrooms. I would cook the sauce down - it was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is soo good. I did tweek it with sour cream and old bay and added some evaporated milk to make a creamier sauce and thickened it with corn starch. I also used 10 oz can of whole baby clams. I doubled for my family, even the kids liked it. I just did not tell them it had clams in it. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Berry Boss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Very simple and quick recipe. I would add cream as a thickener and do justice to a white clamshell pasta sprinkled with bits of green Italian parsley. Yes, reduce the butter to half. White wine, too after garlic has browned and before adding clamshell and juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This dish is absolutely amazing! I made a few changes, as did other reviewers, but I didn't stray too far from the original recipe. I took suggestions of a few and used 1/4 c. butter and 1/4 c. olive oil and used 4 cloves of garlic. I used portabello mushrooms because I love the meatness they add to a dish - fantastic! Because the type of parsely wasn't specified, I used Italian parsley (a favorite of mine), but only used 1/4 cup. I used another suggestion to use Old Bay Seasoning - very good! I mixed a little cornstartch with some of the reserved clam juice (as the juice from both cans would be too much, which was obvious after the first can) to thicken the sauce slightly. I would be delighted to serve this dish to guests. White wine, crusty french bread and candles would make it a phenomenal romantic meal! Thanks for the recipe, Silvia. It will be a mainstay in my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ely, Nevada, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States