Clam Chowder III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Yum...we LOVED this! First, I sauteed some bacon in a pan to crumble over the soup when served, and then I cooked the onion and garlic in the bacon drippings a little before putting them in the blender. I omitted the celery and added 2 tbsp. sherry and some garlic powder, and it came out so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe was very easy and tasted great. I did make a few changes, using a bottle of clam juice in place of half the water used to simmer the veggies. I also used fat free half and half, which did not seem to affect the flavor or texture of the chowder at all. I also added some crumbled bacon toward the end, which is an ingredient from another fish chowder recipe I have been making for years. If I do make this soup again, I would either cut the potatoes into larger cubes or simmer it for less time. The reason being is that when I whisked in the flour and butter mixture, most or all of the potatoes dissolved into the soup. This made for a more "mealy" mashed potato type of texture, which my husband does not find to be appropriate for Clam Chowder. I think I would also sauté the celery before adding the rest of the veggies to simmer, thus cutting down on the simmer time. Over all a hit for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Very goood and very filling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This tasted delicious, I added more salt and pepper, but overall excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I made this for company and everyone LOVED it! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NONIEGOULD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This is my second review. This is my favorite recipes as of right now. I did make a couple of small changes. I bought bottled oyster juice and used instead of water. I used 4 cans of chopped clams, I like my clams meaty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Just the recipe I've been lookin for - a creamy rich New England style clam chowder. Very rich and worth the calories on occasion, but can be more healthy (and still very tasty) with a mixture of milk and half/half. I appreciate the reviewers comments on spices, because it still needs just a little more punch. Next time will add corn, and perhaps some fresh thyme and rosemary. Has anyone tried fresh parsley??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
It was very tasty. My 10-year-old son, who loves clam chowder, loved this. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I thought it was the best homemade clam chowder I've ever had. Everything was perfect. I added an extra can of clams and clam juice and it was wonderful! I love thick chowder and the thickness was just right! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I did not like this recipe. Looking at the other reviews, I must have done something wrong. I definitely prefer Campbell's clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States