Clam Chowder III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
It was good but its missing something. Next time I will try real clams instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I made this for my kids, who seem to love putting a can of soup in the microwave on rainy days, they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I was pretty excited to try this recipe but ened up quite disappointed with the end result - much too bland - actually the only flavour I could detect was flour used as the thickening agent... Rather than throwing it out, I'll play with some additions - and yes, I did add extra clams bacon for the top as well a jar of clam juice as per other reviews....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Its a great recipe that is easy to make and great to serve to company or the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I also sauted the celery for about 5 minutes. You only want to boil potatoes for 12 minutes or they will become mushy. I also added a small bottle of clam juice. Company said was as good as they had in Boston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinsley, Kansas, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was a first for me making clam chowder and WOW, it was a total success. Our family loved it! Next time I may add a little more flour to thicken it up a bit and add another cup or so of potatoes. But, without these changes, it was still awesome, and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Execellent! I could not believe how quick and easy it was. I omitted the celery {not a big fan} and added 4 cans of clams {instead of 2} This recipe is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was one of the best clam chowders I've ever had. Very creamy and soothing for those of us who love soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Yum...we LOVED this! First, I sauteed some bacon in a pan to crumble over the soup when served, and then I cooked the onion and garlic in the bacon drippings a little before putting them in the blender. I omitted the celery and added 2 tbsp. sherry and some garlic powder, and it came out so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe was very easy and tasted great. I did make a few changes, using a bottle of clam juice in place of half the water used to simmer the veggies. I also used fat free half and half, which did not seem to affect the flavor or texture of the chowder at all. I also added some crumbled bacon toward the end, which is an ingredient from another fish chowder recipe I have been making for years. If I do make this soup again, I would either cut the potatoes into larger cubes or simmer it for less time. The reason being is that when I whisked in the flour and butter mixture, most or all of the potatoes dissolved into the soup. This made for a more "mealy" mashed potato type of texture, which my husband does not find to be appropriate for Clam Chowder. I think I would also sauté the celery before adding the rest of the veggies to simmer, thus cutting down on the simmer time. Over all a hit for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States