Clam Chowder III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Very tasty! I did alter the method a little bit so I'm rating based on that. Instead of pureeing the vegetables, I finely chopped and sautéed them in the butter. Added the potatoes and clam juice and cooked as instructed. I set aside 1 c of half and half, added the rest to the pot, whisked the flour into the reserved 1 c, then added to the pot. I couldn't get 10oz cans of clams, so I used 2 6oz cans of minced and 2 6oz cans of chopped (I like the 2 different textures). I also added a little fresh dill - the best chowders I've ever eaten have had dill in them. It ended up being what a chowder should be, creamy, rich tasting, and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michmasse1229
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Made this for my husband. Flavor is great, instead of water, I used a home cooked veggie stock. Also he said maybe next time 1/2 cup less potatoes, and a little more celery, for his likes. But, he's going back for a second bowl. Very Good basic soup which could be used for a cheesy potato, cream of mushroom, and a corn chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Loved this! My first time making clam chowder and I was very happy with it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This recipe is amazing just as it. I made it last year and told my mother how great it was so the asked me to make it for Christmas Eve since we always have soup of some kind. On Christmas Eve I made it substituting the Clams with Cod since my Uncle is allergic to shellfish. This way was also a big hit and my mother thought this was better than any chowder she has even made. My mother asked me to make this again this year and I had the hardest time finding the recipe since I forgot to save it. I searched on here by ingredients I knew were in it and once I saw the pic I knew this was it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This may have been suggested already but I prepared this slightly differently. While the potatoes were boiling I melted the butter in a saucepan, added the flour and then half and half in the manner you would make white sauce. When the potatoes were cooked I just added the sauce and its ready to eat. No chance for mushy potatoes this way. Doesn't have a strong clam taste but that is why I love this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is easy, fast, and delicious. My husband said it is a keeper! I did have to increase the liquid some. I didn't get extra clam juice, I will next time, I just added a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I wanted to make my mom's clam chowder but couldn't find the recipe so I tried to find one close to what I remembered. This was almost as good as hers. I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Just made this chowder and before i can continue eating it i had to write a review! Best home made chowder i have ever had! I think i will add a touch more salt and garlic next time but it is still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was very good and creamy. It did need a little more flavor, however. I ended up adding extra salt, pepper, and garlic powder to the finished product. This makes six entree-sized servings. If you plan on serving this as a first course or with a sandwich, it's probably more like 10 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Everyone loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camas, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States