Clam Chowder Canadian Military Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was a great recipie. I used the suggestion of adding the bacon and substituted a combination of 1/2& 1/2 cream and milk instead of the evaporated milk suggested. The soup was a big hit. I would add some garlic or other flavourings besides salt and pepper in it next time I made it to give it a little bit more flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcoulas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Great soup! I added bacon and used less butter, but it just didn't quite taste like clam chowder. Next time I will probably add clam juice instead of the water or another can of clams. . . It did taste wonderful though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very Good - extremely rich and creamy. I added bacon and more spices (italian spice & garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I salute you! My cupboard was particularly bare when I needed a base recipe for clam chowder. I had canned clams, and always have evaporated milk on hand. This is a great recipe. I served it with hearty garlic bread, and we were happy campers. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Great recipe, I added cayenne pepper and chili powder to give a little spiciness then added cheddar cheese on top, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was so good. It was very creamy and smooth. I think I ended up adding 2 cups of water (the recipe doesn't tell you a certain amount). I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This was wonderful, it was so thick and creamy. I cooked 4 bacon strips, and then sauteed the onion (didn't have any celery) in the bacon fat. I did add a little bit of olive oil to help make the roux. I used 3 cans of clams and an extra potato to make the chowder hearty. I also sprinkled in some garlic powder. I can't wait for lunch so I can eat the rest of this chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Wonderful it has a lovely cream. I recommend to make it with real milk and cream (about 1 cup of milk, and 1/2 cup of cream). I also must warn you not to try adding too much clams, I added 4 ounces to many and my sister complained that its was too fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This clam chowder was exceptional! With a little minced garlic and a bit of parsley my family enjoyed this immensely. Was glad to see it is Military Style, as we also know a Military chef who made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This was a fabulous recipe, I added one can of chopped clams, but otherwise followed the recipe to a tee. My husband who 'hates' clams LOVED this, and even had it for lunch the next day! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States