City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
If you've never had City Chicken before, TRY IT! My husband grew up on it; as soon as he walked in our front door, he knew what I was making! He thought I called his mom for the recipe! A batch of mashed potatoes & gravy, a tossed salad, and you'll be in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I can't believe someone actually posted a recipe for City Chickens! I'm 47 (2006) and ate City Chickens as a young child when visiting my Polish grandparents who lived in Pittsburgh. Thanks Diane for posting this recipe! It is truly one of my favorite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
My family really enjoyed this city chicken. I have made city chicken before using the flour>egg wash>bread crumbs and flour>egg wash>crushed crackers methods, but I was looking for a simpler version. I enjoyed this more than the breaded versions. I did not cook it in the skillet, after browning the city chicken, I baked it in the oven at 325 for an hour and half (in the bay leaf/thyme chicken broth). This will now be our standard city chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Yeah!!! City Chicken is alive and well! My Aunt made this recipe as a staple for her family. Yes, Warren, Ohio is where I grew up and always felt lucky when I'd spend the night with my cousins and the aroma of City Chicken filled the house. My Aunt served it with white rice and chicken gravy. We popped our meat off the skewers onto the rice and filled it with gravy. What a meal! She usually served a green salad and her famous pumpkin cake. This recipe says to cook on the stove, but my aunt cooked it in a 350 degree oven for an hour after browned on the stove. Either way, this recipe is to die for! Thank you, thank you, thank you...tastes of home are always great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This tasted just like my mom's. Yum. After browning the city chicken - I baked in the oven at 350 for an hour. The meat was perfect and the gravy was delicious. I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Having grown up in Erie, PA like one of the other reviewers, I have wonderful memories or this being served at family gatherings. My mom and aunts were truly the best cooks in Erie Co.! This is my recollection of how City Chicken is prepared: coat in flour, roll in egg wash, then in crushed saltines or seasoned bread crumbs. Brown in some vegetable oil, transfer to a baking dish and add enough broth to cover bottom of pan. Bake covered in at a low temp., about 275, for about 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
Very good, but I added a package of onion soup mix and we liked it better. Very tender and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
My husband and I LOVED this recipe. He said it would have 6 stars if possible. When I put the 2 cups of chicken broth in the pan to simmer, I through it would never thicken down. Give it the full cooking time and it does become gravy like. The pork was tender. We loved this recipe and will be making it again! The only thing we did is we didn't use the skewers and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
YUM! My grandmother used to make this all the time. I was always amazed at how tender the meat was. She called it "city chicken", but no one I've ever talked to knows what it is. This recipe hit it on the head. It was so easy and so good. My husband and kids all loved it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This dish was pretty good. I added garlic powder to the flour before coating the skewers of pork. I also added garlic slices to the broth. An interesting way to use pork. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States