City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I grew up on this stuff in Erie PA! Yummy! The recipe is exactly like the one I use, except less flour, & add salt, pepper, and basil! Anyone who doesn't like this, just didn't make it right! A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sparta, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
My husband and I LOVED this recipe. He said it would have 6 stars if possible. When I put the 2 cups of chicken broth in the pan to simmer, I through it would never thicken down. Give it the full cooking time and it does become gravy like. The pork was tender. We loved this recipe and will be making it again! The only thing we did is we didn't use the skewers and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Pittsburghers think they invented this recipe .... since I'm a later generation Pittsburgher, I looked this up to get a refresher on the list of ingrediants .... I was so glad to find "City Chicken" ... the review/comments are great & I appreciate people taking the time to post them .... now I recall, our family recipe includes 1/2 CORNMEAL with the flour, ONION & GARLIC powder, BROWNING the 'chicken legs' before baking in broth, THICKENING the broth later for gravy .... I'm going to try adding some Italian seasonings this next time too ... making a huge batch for a church luncheon to send off a gal moving from the area ..... SHOULD BE A CROWD PLEASER .... Thanks for posting "City Chicken"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Very easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This recipe is a good start but of course I had to tweek it just a bit. I added garlic powder and italian seasoning to the flower mix. To the chicken broth I added a packet of beefy chiken soup mix along with the bay leaf. I let it simmer hours. Then I poured the sauce over egg noodles. Absolutely delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
My husband has fond memories of his mother's City Chicken but I'd never had it before. When I told him I was going to make this recipe, he said that the meat HAS to be rolled in saltine cracker crumbs, not flour. So, I ended up coating the meat with what he remembers his mother did instead of the recipe directions. You make an egg wash, dip the skewered meat in the egg, then into cracker crumbs seasoned with salt pepper, paprika and poultry seasoning. After that I browned and then cooked in broth as described. I also browned some onion slices in the pan with the meat. My husband proclaimed them to be "pretty good". We had it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I made this recipe exactly as indicated but doubled since I had more than 1-1/2 lbs. of pork. I grew up with City Chicken without the gravy so I thought this recipe would be interesting. Turns out that it was okay, nothing special to the meat. The kids liked the gravy but thought the meat was missing something. I can't imagine what, it did have enough flavor with the herbs and seasons. Maybe next time I'll make it like I always did and let them compare the two. I think I prefer the old way, but this wasn't too bad for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I thought this was excellent. Although it did take quite some time to prepare (could be the chef), it was extremly tender and tasty. Reminded me of an oriental meal, considering the tender nature of the pork and the brown sauce (gravy) that occured with it. I did let it simmer in the chicken broth for an extended period of time. I believe this helped in making the cubes so tender. Oh, I did not do the skewers... just cubed the pork and flipped. After going through that I think the skewers would make it alot faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I thought it was ok. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
This didn't taste anything like the city chicken I'm used to. I added 1c onion and 1c green pepper with the broth, seasoned the heck out of my flour and added extra thyme to the broth, and this was still bland. We'll be hard-pressed to eat the leftovers. A waste of good pork loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States