City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Very good I do all the cooking and my wife and 4yr girl are fussy eaters.(Drives me crazy lol)Im always trying something diff... This was a very good recipe and easy good enough to doctor up. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Driver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This recipe is great. My husband said I can cook pork this way every time. I skipped the skewer and simmered it stovetop about 25 minutes. Fanatastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Knob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claysville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This is pretty good, my husband enjoyed it : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Really good flavor, so tender and succulent, incredibly easy to make, but we were put off by the seasoned flour coating that kinda turned glutinous and sticky. Despite this, we did enjoy it. Thanks, Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I have never had city chicken before so I had nothing to compare the end result to, but I think it turned out very good. Very tender and had great flavor. My boyfriend compared it to a smothered porkchop and loved it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
My family really enjoyed this city chicken. I have made city chicken before using the flour>egg wash>bread crumbs and flour>egg wash>crushed crackers methods, but I was looking for a simpler version. I enjoyed this more than the breaded versions. I did not cook it in the skillet, after browning the city chicken, I baked it in the oven at 325 for an hour and half (in the bay leaf/thyme chicken broth). This will now be our standard city chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Yeah!!! City Chicken is alive and well! My Aunt made this recipe as a staple for her family. Yes, Warren, Ohio is where I grew up and always felt lucky when I'd spend the night with my cousins and the aroma of City Chicken filled the house. My Aunt served it with white rice and chicken gravy. We popped our meat off the skewers onto the rice and filled it with gravy. What a meal! She usually served a green salad and her famous pumpkin cake. This recipe says to cook on the stove, but my aunt cooked it in a 350 degree oven for an hour after browned on the stove. Either way, this recipe is to die for! Thank you, thank you, thank you...tastes of home are always great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Very Easy. I added a few dashes of garlic salt & cajun spice and did not add bay leaves, I also browned using olive oil. My family loved it!!! My 4 year old is VERY picky & she ate all of the left overs. Thanks for a great alternative to the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I made this for company on New Year's Eve. My friend said it was the "fanciest meat she had ever eaten." I alternated pork and veal on the skewers, as this is how I remember the dish being prepared. As another reviewer noted, if you've never had this before, you have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul is hungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Nostalgia personified! I had forgotten about City Chicken that we purchased from Austin's Meat Market in Coudersport, Pa. in the 50's and early 60's. We'd bring them home in a brown wrapped package, Mom would cook them that night. Heavenly smell, heavenly dish. I think part of the key is to brown it well, then add chicken broth. Thanks so much for posting this recipe! I enjoyed it minus skewers, for dinner this evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States