City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
We thought this was great. It brought back great memories of my grandma cooking these when I was a child. I have not had these in 30 years. My dd who is not a big pork eater loved them. My only regret is that I did not make more. I have used this website for years but never wrote a review but I want to thank the poster for a great childhood recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I grew up eating City Chicken and this is very much like my grandmother's recipe. I agree with Next Top Chef about the pork AND veal cubes as well as browning and baking. It was great to see this recipe come around; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I ate this a lot when I was a kid and just recently asked my grndmother for the recipe. The only differences are: pork AND veal, egg wash AND flour, browned AND baked; however, this recipe is really good as well. I was astonished to actually find it on allrecipes. I lie and tell my PICKY girlfriend that its really chicken as she hates pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetroitCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
YUMMY is all I have to say about this city chicken!! My son is a very picky eater & even he loved it! It was a huge hit in my family of 6! My youngest daughter is 22 months old & she ate it too! The only changes I made were using chicken instead of pork & baking it in the oven at 350 for 1 hour after I browned it on the stove. Also, I didn't put sticks in it, I just laid the chicken chunks in a 13 x 9 baking dish. Very delicious served with mashed potatoes & we used the drippings from the chicken to pour over the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Beers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelayres, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
We made this last night and it was pretty good. Basically fried pork chops on a stick is what I think of it. Nobody's fault but my own but I didn't fry them til crispy on some sides of them so when they simmered for 1 hr. in the chicken broth they got kinda doughy. It is a nice change. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wv_mtnr_cook_78

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I tried this recipe today. It was very good. I did not have bay leaves or thyme so I used basil oregeno. It turned out great. Thanks for the help. Alicia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This is a great dish, people who has not had it before may not realize the end result is that the crust is really moist and gravy covered. Add salt to taste to this recipe and it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by over easy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Good. The meat was very tender. I did use the flour, egg wash, seasoned bread crumbs method. May try baking it next time as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Very good I do all the cooking and my wife and 4yr girl are fussy eaters.(Drives me crazy lol)Im always trying something diff... This was a very good recipe and easy good enough to doctor up. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Driver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This recipe is great. My husband said I can cook pork this way every time. I skipped the skewer and simmered it stovetop about 25 minutes. Fanatastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ness6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claysville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States