City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Awesome..I didn't add the tyme (didn't have any), I did what most did with browning it and then baking it. I added fresh garlic, capers and a little bit of cream and served over buttered noodles with parsley. Make sure you get the browned pieces from the bottom of pan.Yummy my boys age 3 & 12 loved it and ask fori it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
very yummy!! I browned the meat and then put the chicken broth in. I didn't use the skewers. The meat was tender, tasty and very easy to make. A winner of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Very nice. Didn't bother with the skewers and cooked a bit shorter and hotter (ran out of time). Also burnt it a bit initially but it all still turned out fine. Will make sure I cook it at a lower temperature next time since it came out a bit lumpy. Since I didn't skewer it, I threw the cut up pieces into a bag with the flour and shook it - much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
this pork was extremely tender and flavorful. a wonderful alternative to pork roasts as we eat a lot of pork and I get bored with roasts. added capers and lemon juice/zest to the sauce and served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Great recipe. If you do not want that soggy flour coating on the meat, then stir the mixture- the more flour that falls off the meat the better and the thicker the sauce with will be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIE3WISHZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wonderful way to prepare city chicken! I will make this over and over!! My only problem was that my gravy never thickened but I used it to my advantage by putting the broth over my rice and asparagus, wow what a delicious combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I have been making City Chicken occasionally for many years. Tried this recipe last night. I had never tried it with the chicken broth and this was very good! I always use beef and pork on my skewers. A lot of times you can find these already on skewers at a meat market. I served this with an apricot cashew rice and the meal was so good! To save time make up your skewers ahead of time. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I come from a Polish Russian family in Michigan, and this was a favorite once a week...like a treat. I also put a few pieces of chicken breast on the skewers. Old timey recipes are hard to find anymore.....Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made a batch just rolled in flour and another that I dipped in a beaten egg and then cracker crumbs after the flour. I was trying to make like my boyfriend's family friend. I also cooked in the oven instead of the stove top. We decided the second way was exactly like hers. Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
My husband and I couldn't stop eating this! What I did differently: I didn't have any skewers so I didn't bother cutting the pork into cubes. I still prepared the larger pieces (like country-style ribs) the same way. I also added a packet of onion soup mix over the pork, then cooked for the stated length of time. I made the gravy and served over brown rice. My whole family loved this and I will make it again!! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States