City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Almost didn't try this, since I can pan-fry breaded pork chops any time. But this recipe was a real hit; even my picky son ate some! The only change I made was to add some onion and garlic powders to the flour and to the pork as it cooked. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very good - reminded of my youth. You can use chicken or beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bright, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
We LOVED this!! We had not heard of city chicken before but were delighted with how wonderful it tastes! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This recipe took me back 40 years to Gramma's house in Brecksville, OH on Sunday afternoons. I did it in an electric skillet, didn't have skewers, so simply turned the cubes over with tongs. My uninitiated husband and kids LOVED IT! Definitely a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Definitely as good as I remember it. For my own tastes, I'll make sure that I use real chicken broth next time. I used bouillion and it was a tad too salty. Strictly my fault. Soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
When I found this recipe it brought back a lot of memories of when I had it way back when. Really enjoyed it today as much as I did then. The only change that was made was using a low-sodium chicken broth. This recipe is a keeper! Thank you Diane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is a good basic recipie- don't be afraid to add spices to your liking! I usually add garlic powder and a pinch of cyanne pepper to the flour. Just like some of the other posters, I use the spice & flour/egg/breadcrumb method. I am also used to pan frying in oil, but chicken stock is a great idea! My city chicken came out great! PS- this HAS to be a local title for this dish. I'm in the NEOH area also and came looking for "city chicken"... this is the only result I got for me search :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trtlflwrs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Had to try this when we lived in Pittsburgh. It was very good and easy to make. A nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
needed a bit more spice for flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
To make this special, alternate pork and veal. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States