City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
This didn't taste anything like the city chicken I'm used to. I added 1c onion and 1c green pepper with the broth, seasoned the heck out of my flour and added extra thyme to the broth, and this was still bland. We'll be hard-pressed to eat the leftovers. A waste of good pork loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
I was skeptical but so many gave it a high rating so I tried it. We didn't care for it - and yes, I agree with the other reviewers - way too much flour - I used 1/4 cup for my 1 1/2 lb. pork loin chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
My pork came out a little dry on the inside but I used really thick, boneless pork chops rather than the tenderloin. It was still very tasty and I too added some garlic/onion powders to the flour mixture and a bay leaf along with the broth. This was a very simple and quick dish...ideal for those long days. Thanks Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Now this is comfort food! I only needed about 3/4 cup flour mix and I used pork tenderloin. It was tender and juicy. Served with mashed spuds, this brought me back to Sunday suppers in Ohio. Picky children are really drawn to the meat on a stick concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
Folks, we've got a winner here! Oh, man,is this good. I,too, added garlic powder to a lesser amount of flour, and, along with thyme, used a little sage in the broth. Mmmm...mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
We found no need to skewer. I too added some onion and garlic powder to the dish and it came out AMAZING! WE LOVED THIS RECIPE! I've made a handful of times over the past couple months and we haven't tired of it yet! Thank you Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
We love pork tenderloin, and this was a great dish for it. I used around 3/4 cup flour, which was plenty, and added garlic powder and white pepper to the dredging mix. At 1" cubes, however they were well on their way to overdone in 40 minutes, I would suggest 30 - they're definitely cooked. The chicken broth had boiled off, so I deglazed the skillet with some white wine and more broth. Be careful about using chicken broth with sodium, because the dish will come out salty, without even adding any salt. I served this with Pat's Mushroom Saute which was delicious. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Excellent recipe. Easy and uses ingredients I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
Just like my grandmother used to make! I always serve this with mashed potatoes, and the kids just love eating their meat on sticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This recipe really delievers in taste and ease! By far, one of the best pork recipes we've ever had! I didn't bother to skewer, added a dash of onion/garlic powders to the flour mix and added a second pinch of ground thyme to the broth. EASY but great tasting meal - one I will surely make again!! Thanks Diane!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States