City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Great comfort food for a weeknight meal. I added some garlic powder to the sauce at the end of cooking and served the meal with mashed potatoes and green beans I had on hand. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was SOOO good! Just like I remember eating while growing up in Ohio! I didn't use skewers and browned with light Olive oil,then baked in the over (350 ) for 1 hour. Also added paprika to flour. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
My husband loved this and of the 30 or so recipes i've made from allrecipes so far, he said that this one is his favorite. I was skeptical the whole time but it came out well. Hubby says this tastes like shake n' bake pork chops smothered with gravy. The only thing I did differently was use fresh garlic and onion to add to the gravy which ended up making it a little lumpy. Next time I'll use powdered onion and garlic as I see some have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My mother uses a mixture of pork, beef & veal. After browning the city chicken, we also place it in the over covered for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Simply put...this was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Not how I remember City Chicken but this is delicious and easy compared to flour, egg, bread crumb dipping and skewering. Thank you for this simple recipe. I didn't skewer it. I placed the cubes in a 9 x 13 and added broth. It made a really nice gravy. Served with mashed potato and hot veggie. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Brings back childhood memories of Munhall, PA! Try a little tarragon leaves half-way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCS137

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This recipe came out very tasty! But there are a few things I would change. For one, this recipe calls for far more flour than was needed. I think I had about a cup left over after I had breaded the pork. I also decided not to use the skewers since it would have been cumbersome during the browning process. I think I would use the skewers if I decided to bake them like another review described. Also the pork wasn't quite as tender as I remember having in my childhood. I think I would cook them longer in the pan or try the baking method. Overall, very good recipe. The flavor is exactly as I remember as a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Delicious! The guys in the house gave it rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FaFaFooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very good! My boyfriend told me that it was better than restaurant quality! I didn't have chicken broth so I substituted it with beef broth. I also added a bit more thyme for flavor. Turned out delicious!! Will be trying again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States