City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Great comfort food for a weeknight meal. I added some garlic powder to the sauce at the end of cooking and served the meal with mashed potatoes and green beans I had on hand. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was SOOO good! Just like I remember eating while growing up in Ohio! I didn't use skewers and browned with light Olive oil,then baked in the over (350 ) for 1 hour. Also added paprika to flour. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
My husband loved this and of the 30 or so recipes i've made from allrecipes so far, he said that this one is his favorite. I was skeptical the whole time but it came out well. Hubby says this tastes like shake n' bake pork chops smothered with gravy. The only thing I did differently was use fresh garlic and onion to add to the gravy which ended up making it a little lumpy. Next time I'll use powdered onion and garlic as I see some have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My mother uses a mixture of pork, beef & veal. After browning the city chicken, we also place it in the over covered for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Simply put...this was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Not how I remember City Chicken but this is delicious and easy compared to flour, egg, bread crumb dipping and skewering. Thank you for this simple recipe. I didn't skewer it. I placed the cubes in a 9 x 13 and added broth. It made a really nice gravy. Served with mashed potato and hot veggie. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Brings back childhood memories of Munhall, PA! Try a little tarragon leaves half-way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCS137

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This recipe came out very tasty! But there are a few things I would change. For one, this recipe calls for far more flour than was needed. I think I had about a cup left over after I had breaded the pork. I also decided not to use the skewers since it would have been cumbersome during the browning process. I think I would use the skewers if I decided to bake them like another review described. Also the pork wasn't quite as tender as I remember having in my childhood. I think I would cook them longer in the pan or try the baking method. Overall, very good recipe. The flavor is exactly as I remember as a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Delicious! The guys in the house gave it rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FaFaFooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very good! My boyfriend told me that it was better than restaurant quality! I didn't have chicken broth so I substituted it with beef broth. I also added a bit more thyme for flavor. Turned out delicious!! Will be trying again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States