Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I have always used a plain salt brine for my poultry and decided it was time to try some flavours in the brine...This ia a great recipe! I doubled the recipe and added 1/2 C of brown sugar and used some whole peppercorns instead of ground pepper. I also added a bit of baking soda to the mixture to neutralize the acidity of the oranges and lemons; this helps the brine absorb into the meat better. I dry the bird after removing from the brine and get it into the oven right away; this ensures the brine stays in the meat. The weight of the food on itself begins to squeeze the brine out within minutes of leaving the bath. I've used this brine many times and I'm never disappointed. Works well for whole birds or pieces. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
625 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I have been brining my turkeys for several years now using a different recipe, but was not quite happy with it. So I tried this one and give it 10 stars. Incredibly moist, very flavorful the citrus flavor is subtle but there and yet it is still good with traditional sides. I added a sliced orange, lemon, onion, and some garlic gloves to the cavity as it baked. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABEACH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I used orange juice and RealLemon instead of fresh fruit because that's what I had available. Also, used less than a gallon of water. Brined two turkeys, and they were both great. Easily the best turkeys I have ever made. The turkeys themselves were bargain basement frozen birds, not fancy high dollar fresh turkeys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
384 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I found that if the turkey is too salty that I could change the type of turkey and make a big difference. Butterball adds lots of salt injected in the bird. I like fresh local turkeys the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
EXCELLENT! Brined turkey is the moisted and most flavorful I've ever had. I just mixed the salt, citrus and herbs into the water and dropped in my turkey. I also added a 1/2 cup of sugar and some sprigs of rosemary. Try this, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
My turkey was superb! I used the brine, then cooked in a bag upside down (on it's breast) and it was the juiciest turkey ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieq
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This is also great cook on a smoker if you have time (9-13hrs, depending on size).You will love what that citrus add in flavor to this bird. I use a tall kitchen trash bag to whole everything in the pot.It also is helpful in reducing the contact with air and other flavors in the frig. I have also use orange juice to replace some of the water, for extra flavor. Now I boil the brine solution and let cool to room temp,then add to plastic bag and let stand in frig overnight. Remember to let stand the next day to get to room temp, then cook as desired. Get ready for a juicey, flavoral, tender treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I have used this brine several times for chickens as well as turkeys. I should have rated it a long time ago. THIS WORKS FOR A GOOD JUICY CHICKEN, ROASTER OR TURKEY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I used this brine for the Thanksgiving turkey, and it resulted in the most tender, juiciest bird ever! I did have to more than double the recipe in order to completely sumberge my 17 pound turkey. I also stuffed the lemons, oranges, garlic and bay leaves in the cavity before roasting. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was excellent and well worth the effort. Just make very sure you do not get a prebasted turkey. A fresh turkey works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States