Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I'de never brined a turkey before, and it was so delicious, I've cooked my second turkey in a week! Now I wont cook one any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was so simple but the turkey came out so moist. My husband said it was the moistest turkey he's ever had. We didn't need a knife, the meat fell off the bone, and it was like butter in your mouth. The skin was bursting with flavors from all the citrus and herbs. One minor alteration was less salt and added soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
What a fantastic Turkey we had this year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was a delicious brine to our Thanksgiving Turkery. Very easy, fix it and forget it! I placed mine in one of the oven bags, turkery sized and placed it in a cooler with ice all around it and left it, just adding more ice as it melted. It remained nice and cold overnight (total of 24 hours actually). I'm in AL so it sat on my back porch. Thanks for this easy brine. (I even used a butterball turkey and the breast was even more flavorful and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Taber Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I used this recipe for my Thanksgiving turkey. The only modifications that I made was that I used 2 oranges and 2 lemons since our turkey was 24 lbs plus I had to used more than a gallon and a half of water. The turkey was very moist, juicy and flavorful. I had 2 people take this recipe home with them so they can use it. For the first time in years there was no left over turkey. I will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_mary1971

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I'm so excited-still. I made my first Thanksgiving dinner and I have to tell you I have some mad respect for mothers who have done it for years. I was so nervous about trying a brine since I never heard of it. So with a what the heck attitude, I tried it and let my bird soak overnight. I only had half a lemon, so I added a lime. My turkey came out so moist and juicy. I have to admit that it was the best turkey I have ever eaten. My guests loved it and I have little leftovers!!! I'll be using this again for my turkey recipes whether it being Thanksgiving or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was my first brined turkey. Chose this recipe because it was economical and saw Emeril use citrus in his. Came out wonderful. So much flavor. I even overcooked it to 185 degrees (by accident), and it was still juicy. Note-it will cook quicker than a nonbrined bird. Also used a cooler for the brine and left outside overnight with ice in it. It was below 30 outside and never frooze. I have been designated to do Thanksgiving turkey for now on. Happy but what did I get myself into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is the first year that I have brined a turkey. I only had a turkey breast since it was just me. I was worried it would be too salty, but was very happy with the outcome. The citrus)not the same pieces used in brine) I also put inside along with sprig of rosemary and it was tender and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is the first time I have ever brined a turkey. It was deemed the best turkey I've ever made and asked for me to make it this way from now on. Moist and flavorable! Wish I heard about this years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLFBHARD
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was absolutely great. I didn't really taste the citrus but that acid must really break down the meat. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tilden, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States