Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Will do again this year. Followed recipe exactly and this was my first attempt at brining a turkey. The turkey was very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is going to be my go-to turkey brine. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I increased the salt, which I think may have been a mistake. I would stick to the recipe on that one if I were you. I brought all the ingredients to a boil with some water in a pot first and then let cool before I added to the turkey in a larger bucket with some more water. This helps to bring out the flavors. I also added a little rice vinegar and used whole peppercorns instead of ground pepper. Good recipe for a springtime bird! Brining is a MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I'm not sold on this. I changed the servings to 5 for a chicken. It didn't taste citrus-y at all. The chicken legs also turned out very salty. However, the chicken breast turned out very well, and not even dry after re-heating twice. I think I'll still stick with other brines, but this wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
PERFECTO! Made a few modifications, just added additional citrud, more than what it called for. Everyone in my family LOVED it, huge turkey with NO leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Dark meat tasted spectacular. Breast seemed a bit odd on first taste, but as leftovers the breast was so moist and delicious. The only real complaint was that the skin didn't crisp up very nicely. Too moist maybe? We made this in the Weber barbecue as we always do. I wasn't sure at first if I would do this again, but after tasting the leftovers that were in the freezer for 1-1/2 months, I'm sold. Best Thanksgiving leftovers ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Love it! I have used this brine the last two Thanksgivings and I've never considered going back to any other way to cook my turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
We did this for Thanksgiving and the Turley was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I pretty much created my own recipe & used the citrus from this one...OMG! Citrus gave my turkey an amazing flavor! It was sooo good & hubby loved it! Will totally use again. Thx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I had to omit the onion and garlic due to allergies in the family, otherwise followed the directions. I did brine for a full 24 hours as I had a 20 lb turkey. It was still very moist. I used butter and herbs under the skin, basted with oj, cooked breast side down for about 3/4 of the time then turned over, and it came out very good, very moist and tender. really went pretty quick, not a lot of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States