Citrus Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
THIS RECIPE MADE ME MONEY! I catered a Christmas party using this brine and the techniques from the "Perfect turkey" recipe from this same site. 25 turkeys all perfect, all juicy, and all with that flavor "I just can't put my finger on." My customers were a very diverse group and we heard a lot of positive feed back. If you follow this recipe and the perfect turkey recipe this Thanksgiving/Christmas, your nieces and nephews will ask "Are you making the turkey next year?" Great brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
All I have to say is WOW! Made the best turkey that I and all of my guests have ever had because of this brine. I must do for Thanksgiving! I will never cook another turkey without using this brine first. But double it because it's not enough to cover the turkey completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
It was my first time ever cooking a turkey (19lbs)—let alone brining one and I did it using an electric roaster! Talk about audacity! I followed the recipe to the letter, had sensational results and more giblet gravy(another first for me) than we needed. The turkey was juicy and aromatic. There wasn't enough. It was picked to the bone. Thanks for the recipe! I found this cooking method for the roaster (no water is needed): 1. Cook turkey at the highest temp of your roaster (ours is 450 degrees) for 30 minutes 2. Reduce to 325 degrees for the rest of the time. 3. DO NOT OPEN THE LID AT ANY TIME!! The bird will self-baste. You must have faith! :) Cooking times (including steps 1 & 2): 8-12lbs 2h 45m - 3h; 12-14lbs 3h - 3h 45min; 14-18lbs 3h 45m - 4h 15m; 18-20lbs 4h 15m - 4h 30m; If you are stuffing your bird add about 15-30m to the above times. A brined bird really protects against drying out your meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
THRILLED with the results. I didn't have a big enough pan to submerse it, so I used a cooking bag inside a 3" high rimmed pan. Someone mentioned cooking it upside down for super moist breast meat. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rice (Pingston)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dundee, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Just took this bad boy out of the oven and carved it! So super good! Never tried to brine a turkey before and this was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Used this two years ago and everyone raved. Going to do it again this year because I have more people and no time to try something I don't trust! It was a lot easier than I thought brining would be, and so juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Stream, New York, USA
Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I was so disappointed when I realized I had purchased a Butterball turkey, which has basting added to it and so you can't brine it or it ends up too salty. So, having a bright idea, I called the folks at Butterball and they confirmed my idea. If you want to brine your turkey, and find the one you purchased already has added basting to it, simply don't add salt to your brine. So, my brine will consist of apples and juice, oranges and juice, lemons and juice, vegetable broth, garlic, rosemary, thyme, sage, summer savory and onions. NO SALT. They said at Butterball that I could still brine my turkey as long as I cut down on the salt I used in it. I will also, when I roast the bird, stuff it with apples, oranges, lemans, celery, garlic and the herbs inside the cavity as well as a butter of butter, savory, sage, thyme, garlic and Rosemary put under the skin. I will let everyone know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
LOVE THIS i DO IT EVERY YEAR REALLY KEEPS THE TURKEY JUCICY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
My whole family loves this recipe. We've used it for chicken, turkey & Cornish game hens. We've also added sage & juniper berries for variety. I definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Very delicious. Makes for a juicy turkey. I've used this for years and it works wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States