Citrus Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
actually, we made this for a barbeque and it came out very good.my husband cooked it for my whole family, he works for a resturant.everyone was impressed.the way your ingredients is that's actually the way he did it..keep it up..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was a very good recipe but needed some tweaking. I used 2 limes instead of 3. I added a half-cup of orange juice, a half-cup of honey and a small can of crushed pineapple to the marinade. I marinated for 2 hours. After pan-frying the shrimp, I poured the excess marinade in the pan and reduced by half to make a sauce. I Toasted some coconut and added that to some white rice I made and poured the sauce over the rice and sprinkled the shrimp with some leftover toasted coconut. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICEPIRATE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as instructed. My family of four decided that the lime flavors are too strong and even bitter. Next time I make this, I will cut way back on the lime zest, and add more orange juice. Hubby said he would have liked more sauce that he could put over the rice I served alongside. Maybe I'll add some crushed pineapple, honey and a sprinkle of toasted coconut before serving to create a sweeter version. This recipe definetly needs some experimenting before you serve it to guests. Nice light recipe, however; and easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I liked this allot. I reduced the marinade on the stove top and used it as a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Fab recipe! I went with the advice of another reviewer and lessened the garlic. Now that I've eaten it, I'm not convinced that was necessary. Definitely should let the shrimp sit longer in the marinade than 20 minutes. I let it go for about an hour and it easily could have gone longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This wasnt horrable, but it needs some tweaking. I might try adding the honey and what not as suggested by one of the other reveiwers. I let the shrimp marinade about 1 1/2 hrs longer than directed. Maybe that had something to do with the over pouring citrus flavor. When they called it citrus shrimp they werent joking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gregory, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Way t much lime and I cut the limes down by half only ate one portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was very good. The citrus made it so refreshing tasting. I will make again. Next time I will try it on the grill. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I substituted lemon for lime, but less than required for lime. Also, I wanted to use the sauce, so I added it to the frying pan to cook the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great, but would definitely leave the salt out next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States