Citrus Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Used dried cherries along with the cranberries. Very wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I am getting ready to make these for a second time. I just love these. Tender, soft and yummy. I did add a little more orange zest then called for, I think. I just zested a whole orange. I am getting ready to make these with blueberry and lemon. I think that will be tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
for the sugar I used half splenda half sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
what a nice cookie, I added this to my Christmas baking and am I glad did! I only used 1 cup of coarsely chopped Craisins, had no problem cutting them, got 48 cookies baked in 11 minutes on silpat lined sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This cookie is wonderful. I did not change a thing. It makes a perfectly tender shortbread. The citrus and cranberries take it to another level. These will be on my Christmas cookie trays during the holidays because they are such a beautiful and simple cookie. Thanks for sharing this gem :) BTW will be trying this with lemon or lime zest and dried blueberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Made these fo my Christmas trays, so beautiful and very good. I only use 1 c. dried cranberries and that was plenty. Thanks for the recipe Donna :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I added orange extract along with the almond extract, and I'm glad I did, but I'm sure they'd taste just as good without it. I put these in the freezer before slicing, but I still had trouble slicing. That, however, is not the problem of the recipe. They come out beautiful (once I squished them together) and they take a tad longer than directed--13-14 mins, probably bc mine were colder from being in the freezer. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These are wonderful! They were zesty, fuity with a wonderful texture. I only made two small changes: As another reviewer, I only used 1 cup of chopped cranberries which we found to be plenty! Also, I never had any almond extract so I decided to add 1/4 cup of toasted crushed almond slices. I am not a hugh fan of almond extact but using the real toasted almonds was amazing and really made a difference. Since it said to divide the dough into two logs I decided to add the almonds (1/8 cup for half the recipe) to one log and omit them in the other to test the difference. The cookies without the almonds tasted more fruity...you could really taste the orange and cranberry. The almonds added a more comlex and interesting flavor where all the flavors came through and none were overpowering. We liked both but the cookies with the almonds were our favorite! To toast the almonds: spread sliced almonds on a baking sheet and bake in a 375 deg oven for 3-5min until they look lightly browned. Let cool and crush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. Made just the way it was told to make with the following exceptions: I used 2 tsp. of almond extract and 1/2 tsp of vanilla (just did the reverse of what the recipe called for) because I LOVE almond extract flavoring. The cookies turned out great, and I only chilled them for 2 hours, instead of 4. Good luck. They turned out great in appearance and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These are delicious and so easy to make, yet they look and taste "fancy" enough for holiday entertaining. I must concur with other reviewers, 1 cup of cranberries is plenty. I may experiment with different combinations of fruit and zest just for fun. Great recipe, Donna, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States