Citrus Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This cookie is wonderful. I did not change a thing. It makes a perfectly tender shortbread. The citrus and cranberries take it to another level. These will be on my Christmas cookie trays during the holidays because they are such a beautiful and simple cookie. Thanks for sharing this gem :) BTW will be trying this with lemon or lime zest and dried blueberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. Made just the way it was told to make with the following exceptions: I used 2 tsp. of almond extract and 1/2 tsp of vanilla (just did the reverse of what the recipe called for) because I LOVE almond extract flavoring. The cookies turned out great, and I only chilled them for 2 hours, instead of 4. Good luck. They turned out great in appearance and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These are wonderful! They were zesty, fuity with a wonderful texture. I only made two small changes: As another reviewer, I only used 1 cup of chopped cranberries which we found to be plenty! Also, I never had any almond extract so I decided to add 1/4 cup of toasted crushed almond slices. I am not a hugh fan of almond extact but using the real toasted almonds was amazing and really made a difference. Since it said to divide the dough into two logs I decided to add the almonds (1/8 cup for half the recipe) to one log and omit them in the other to test the difference. The cookies without the almonds tasted more fruity...you could really taste the orange and cranberry. The almonds added a more comlex and interesting flavor where all the flavors came through and none were overpowering. We liked both but the cookies with the almonds were our favorite! To toast the almonds: spread sliced almonds on a baking sheet and bake in a 375 deg oven for 3-5min until they look lightly browned. Let cool and crush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Made these fo my Christmas trays, so beautiful and very good. I only use 1 c. dried cranberries and that was plenty. Thanks for the recipe Donna :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I am getting ready to make these for a second time. I just love these. Tender, soft and yummy. I did add a little more orange zest then called for, I think. I just zested a whole orange. I am getting ready to make these with blueberry and lemon. I think that will be tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
They were tasty, but we thought they lacked something. I ended up making them with lemon peel. After eating a few and thinking them a bit blah, I made a glaze with icing sugar and lemon juice to top them. Then they were amazing! I will bemaking them for Christmas for sure. Very colourful on a plate of sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I did not have the amount of dried cranberries, so I topped up with anything I could find (mint choc chips, mini m&m's,etc) and even though the roll was hard to cut.. a bit of crumbling, oh my they tasted sooo good!!! Will definitely make them again!! Thank YOU Donna!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Used dried cherries along with the cranberries. Very wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
what a nice cookie, I added this to my Christmas baking and am I glad did! I only used 1 cup of coarsely chopped Craisins, had no problem cutting them, got 48 cookies baked in 11 minutes on silpat lined sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Didn't use almond extract, just extra vanilla (husband doesn't like.). I liked these, however the DH did not. So...I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States