Citrus Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I can't believe I'm saying this but they were too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I thought these were great cookies. Like many others, I did not use 2 cups of cranberries. I just added the small package I had and used the zest of a whole orange. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These cookies were dry and crumbly. Out of the 7 recipes I used for cookie trays this year these were the only ones that bombed. A waste of time and ingredients, no one liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dagus Mines, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These are delicious and so easy to make, yet they look and taste "fancy" enough for holiday entertaining. I must concur with other reviewers, 1 cup of cranberries is plenty. I may experiment with different combinations of fruit and zest just for fun. Great recipe, Donna, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
What a great cookie this makes! I made just a couple of changes: I only added 1 tsp of vanilla and no almond extract, and I added 1C of cranberries instead of 2. I thought the cookie had a nice amount of cranberries, and the hint of vanilla complemented the orange zest well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These are wonderful! They were zesty, fuity with a wonderful texture. I only made two small changes: As another reviewer, I only used 1 cup of chopped cranberries which we found to be plenty! Also, I never had any almond extract so I decided to add 1/4 cup of toasted crushed almond slices. I am not a hugh fan of almond extact but using the real toasted almonds was amazing and really made a difference. Since it said to divide the dough into two logs I decided to add the almonds (1/8 cup for half the recipe) to one log and omit them in the other to test the difference. The cookies without the almonds tasted more fruity...you could really taste the orange and cranberry. The almonds added a more comlex and interesting flavor where all the flavors came through and none were overpowering. We liked both but the cookies with the almonds were our favorite! To toast the almonds: spread sliced almonds on a baking sheet and bake in a 375 deg oven for 3-5min until they look lightly browned. Let cool and crush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Made these fo my Christmas trays, so beautiful and very good. I only use 1 c. dried cranberries and that was plenty. Thanks for the recipe Donna :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Used dried cherries along with the cranberries. Very wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
for the sugar I used half splenda half sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
what a nice cookie, I added this to my Christmas baking and am I glad did! I only used 1 cup of coarsely chopped Craisins, had no problem cutting them, got 48 cookies baked in 11 minutes on silpat lined sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States