Citrus Salmon in Parchment Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This was excellent. It was my first time making fresh fish and it turned out so well! It was also a big hit with my family, including the "fish haters". I used regular oranges and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Jade

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
We really liked this salmon. The only alteration to the recipe I made was to use dried dill instead of fresh and I think my dill needs to be replaced as it wasn't very flavourful. The lemon pepper is needed for sure because the fresh citrus doesn't really impart a huge amount of flavour...we found it was primarily for presentation. A nice light dish which I will very likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
My family loved this salmon. The only change I made was, as someone else said, dried dill for the fresh, because I failed to tell my husband that it should be fresh. Hehe. One thing you should try is to squeeze the citrus slices over the fish after it's cooked. It really added a punch to the flavor! I also had to make a modified lemon pepper, because I didn't have any. I used lemon and lime zest, and pepper, but I think I needed salt, too. All in all, it was great! I'll use this cooking method for fresh fish again, it came out better than any I've ever made! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Kudos to the author of this recipe! This is an excellent method for fish which produces beautiful results. The flavors are subtle and will depend on the quality of ingredients used. My only recommendation is to lightly salt the fish along with the pepper. Thank you for such a well written recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
easy, quick...mmmmm, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This recipe is great! It's my favorite way to cook salmon and it turns out perfectly every time. I make it and serve it to guests without hesitation. It is great because I can place the salmon in their packets and the baking sheet fits nicely in my refrigerator while we enjoy cocktails and appetizers. I can then just preheat the oven and pop in the pre-made packets and dinner is ready in a snap! Everyone seems to love it. I'm making it tomorrow and looking forward to it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, my favorite for salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I have made this on several occasions now, and have gotten rave reviews. No need to go crazy with size or shape of parchment - just cut a piece big enough to make a package out of it. I often use a sprig of rosemary as the herb -tastes and smells fantastic. This is a great meal to bring to someone elses house - just make the packets at home and bake them when you get to the house. - serve with green veggie and couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I didn't have dill or oranges, substituted mint and basil and grapefruit. It was delicious and moist. Lots of times my salmon is dry not with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Excellent way to prepare salmon! I didn't have lemon pepper, so just used salt and pepper. The citrus flavor was really nice. I'll be doing my salmon in parchment from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I cooked salmon several times using this recipe. The first time, I had it in the oven too long. I wanted to make sure the fish was completely cooked. Even with the parchment paper, the result was a dry and somewhat tough fish. The second time, I cooked the fish for 15 minutes, the time stated in the recipe. What a difference! The fish was incredibly tender and juicy! The blood orange, lemon, lime and fresh dill provided a wonderful subtle flavor. Other times I used dry dill from McCormick and a standard Florida orange due to the unavailability of fresh dill and blood oranges. Even with these ingredients, I found the salmon still had an incredible amount of flavor. I can confidently say this is the best salmon I ever had! This was also the first time I ever used a blood orange. I was shocked to see after slicing the orange, a purple color, not the familiar orange. Instead of throwing out the orange, I did a Google search for blood oranges and discovered this is a normal color. I ate the left over blood orange and was pleasantly surprised by its’ exquisitely wonderful flavor. I also learned blood oranges are more popular in Europe than in the United States. I only found the blood orange available during the winter/spring. Bottom line, I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States