Citrus Salmon in Parchment Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
My family loved this salmon. The only change I made was, as someone else said, dried dill for the fresh, because I failed to tell my husband that it should be fresh. Hehe. One thing you should try is to squeeze the citrus slices over the fish after it's cooked. It really added a punch to the flavor! I also had to make a modified lemon pepper, because I didn't have any. I used lemon and lime zest, and pepper, but I think I needed salt, too. All in all, it was great! I'll use this cooking method for fresh fish again, it came out better than any I've ever made! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I cooked salmon several times using this recipe. The first time, I had it in the oven too long. I wanted to make sure the fish was completely cooked. Even with the parchment paper, the result was a dry and somewhat tough fish. The second time, I cooked the fish for 15 minutes, the time stated in the recipe. What a difference! The fish was incredibly tender and juicy! The blood orange, lemon, lime and fresh dill provided a wonderful subtle flavor. Other times I used dry dill from McCormick and a standard Florida orange due to the unavailability of fresh dill and blood oranges. Even with these ingredients, I found the salmon still had an incredible amount of flavor. I can confidently say this is the best salmon I ever had! This was also the first time I ever used a blood orange. I was shocked to see after slicing the orange, a purple color, not the familiar orange. Instead of throwing out the orange, I did a Google search for blood oranges and discovered this is a normal color. I ate the left over blood orange and was pleasantly surprised by its’ exquisitely wonderful flavor. I also learned blood oranges are more popular in Europe than in the United States. I only found the blood orange available during the winter/spring. Bottom line, I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Kudos to the author of this recipe! This is an excellent method for fish which produces beautiful results. The flavors are subtle and will depend on the quality of ingredients used. My only recommendation is to lightly salt the fish along with the pepper. Thank you for such a well written recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This was excellent. It was my first time making fresh fish and it turned out so well! It was also a big hit with my family, including the "fish haters". I used regular oranges and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Jade

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I have made this on several occasions now, and have gotten rave reviews. No need to go crazy with size or shape of parchment - just cut a piece big enough to make a package out of it. I often use a sprig of rosemary as the herb -tastes and smells fantastic. This is a great meal to bring to someone elses house - just make the packets at home and bake them when you get to the house. - serve with green veggie and couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I just prepared this recipe tonight for dinner and couldn't wait to review! This is so yummy - definitely a keeper for my family! I followed the recipe except added sea salt in addition to the lemon pepper seasoning. I love fresh ground sea salt with all of my fish recipes! This was no exception - it really brought out the flavor of the salmon. I loved using the parchment paper - made the salmon so tender and juicy! This is an awesome recipe to add to summer dinners! I added roasted red potatoes and sauteed asparagus as side dishes. I also poured the juices left over in the parchment paper over the salmon and we used fresh sliced french bread to dip in the juice - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
We really liked this salmon. The only alteration to the recipe I made was to use dried dill instead of fresh and I think my dill needs to be replaced as it wasn't very flavourful. The lemon pepper is needed for sure because the fresh citrus doesn't really impart a huge amount of flavour...we found it was primarily for presentation. A nice light dish which I will very likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I couldn't find a blood orange anywhere around me, but a regular orange fits as a perfect substitute. I have made this about 4 times, and it hasn't lasted very long in the fridge not once. This takes some time to prepare, but once it is finish, it is worth it. I am not a big fish person, but this recipe is a winner. Make sure to rub in seasoning before you place citrus pieces on the fillets. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
The salmon in this recipe came out so moist and so flavorful. (I cooked it for 15 minutes.) The orange, lemon, and lime flavors were very fresh and delicious. I only had dried dill weed but I didn't see where it made a difference in the final dish. I served the fish out of the parchment on a bed of baby spinach, tomato wedges and carrot matchsticks. The sauce made a nice citrusy "dressing" for the spinach. Thanks for a great recipe, Empress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good - my husband loved this and I'm making for a 2nd time tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States