Citrus Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This pork was so easy and quick to make, and tasted wonderful. I put this in the crock pot on low before I left for work, and it cooked for about 8 hours. Turned out perfect! Nice, juicy, and not dry at all like some roasts have turned out for me lately. The gravy had a nice citrus taste to it that my whole family really liked, and was a really good consistency after adding the orange juice and corn starch. We served this with corn and mashed potatoes, and I am looking forward to leftovers in the next couple of days. Thank you for the recipe, Tammy, we will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Delicious recipe, instead of the chicken broth and corn starch, I used a can of cream of chicken soup. The gravy was ready to serve with the pork. I served the pork with mash potatoes. it was quite a success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I cooked it a second to long but the flavor was so good. My dinner guest really liked it,we all thought the subtle taste of orange and ginger added so much to the pork making it not your every day pork roast. The gravy came out perfect and there was plenty of it.I added a pork roast to my shopping list for this week so I can do it again. I really liked this recipe very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was really good. The ribs were fantastic. The only thing that seemed a bit off to me was the lemon juice - it was a little too sour and kind of tainted the gravy. So next time, I'll leave it out but maybe add orange juice in its place, tho it's probably not necessary. The other little thing is as I was about to make the gravy, I thought 3 TBS of corn starch sounded like a lot but I went with it anyway. Should have listened to myself - it was super thick. Next time, I'll start out with one and work my way up, if need be. Also, I had no problem getting enough juice out of the crock to make the gravy, but I did only use a 1.5 pound loin and didn't cut back on any other ingredients. Though I don't think that could have much that much of a diff. Overall, yummy. So many great pork recipes on this site. Thanks for another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I marinated the pork loin roast overnight in my light homemade BBQ sauce in the fridge, and in the morning, I browned the 5 steaks (2.8 lbs) in a skillet. I let them sear and then placed them in the crockpot and covered them with the {broth-orange peel} mixture I made the night before. I only added 1 c broth more into the pot. I went to work and in 8 hours, we were eating fall-off-the-fork pork with the delicious gravy that is so easy to make and so worth the time. I just scooped into a measuring cup and microwaved til I reached the desired consistency for the gravy. I served with STEAMED EDAMAME, appetizer style, and HONEY WHIPPED SWEET POTATOES that I made with a splash of orange to echo the main course. Served with a simple Sauvignon Blanc, this dish will be made again and again. Plus, this dish is stunning if you put in some prep work the night before and the morning of (I also peeled and cooked my sweet potatoes). Coming home to a dinner almost made on a cold Chicago night? Priceless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was o.k. , as in edible but I wouldn't make it again. The orange flavor was too overpowering for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made this today and was going to cook it on low for 7 hours. After 3.5 hours it was done and was at 190 degrees. It was a bit dry. The flavors were good but I was disappointed in the dryness. My roast was 2.5 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
My oldest daughter wanted a pork roast for dinner and my youngest daughter wanted something with a orange flavor.So we came here as always :) This is the recipe my youngest wanted me to try.I did put the spices on last night and wrapped the roast in plastic wrap to sit in the frig over night.I Caramilzed sweet onions and then browned the roast.Everything else i made according to the recipe.It was good.But,we all thought it had wayyyyyyyyyyy to much orange flavor.If i make it again i will cut back on the oj @ the end.The raost itself was tender & flavorful so i will use the spices again.I think the pork roast will make a great American pork chow main for tomorrow nights dinner!!All & all i will prepare the roast like this again but as far as the gravy goes i will either not use the oj or cut it way back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Nice recipe! Next time, however, I'll use less orange juice- it was somewhat overpowering. On the whole, this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This pork was pretty tasty. Unfortunately I made some fundamental mistakes that I guess reveal my lack of cooking experience. First, I wanted it to cook while I was at work which turns out to a 9-10 hr day. Too long! Even on low this pork was dry. Stick with the recommendation. Second, I decided to follow pp suggestion of throwing some carrots in. The carrots were super yummy and I totally recommend it, but if you do this then you should reduce the amount of oj in the gravy. Because of the liquid absorbed by the carrots there wasn't enough left for the gravy and it ended up tasting like oj. So, don't do what I did and it should be quite good, quite possibly a 5, but I won't be certain until I try it out again. I did think it could use some more flavor and would probably add more spice if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States