Citrus Glazed Banana Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarita
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Having never eaten Banana Squash before this was a great first recipe. Very easy and quick to make. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have to admit that I couldn't resist adding salsa macha,made with chipotle chiles, to the glaze on this. I roasted the squash first in olive oil and salt and pepper, then fried up some onions in the butter and orange juice mix, added squash (now softened) and fried with a little bit of salsa macha. Finally added some pinto beans, and a lot of expectation that my Mexican family will love it! if there are lots of leftovers, I will add some good greens to it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
We really don't care for cloves, so we used garam masala and it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made this last night and it was SO easy and DELICIOUS! This is going to be a regular on our dinner menu. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
My kids thought they didn't like squash until they tasted this. So good, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
great taste. Very easy to cook, even for a beginner like me. Squash did take longer to cook than the 5 minutes. Maybe my cubes were too big..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I made a couple of changes based on one reviewers suggestion. I used dried mango because that's all I had in the house and chopped it finely. Also juiced 1 whole small orange, along with 1/2 very small lemon. I had some candied oranges with rind that were cooked in sugar, and dark rum - and stored in the freezer. I chopped about 1 tbsp. very finely and soaked the mango, and the orange rinds in the orange juice until they were soft, while I roasted the squash in the oven with a little olive oil, S&P for about 40 min. Once soft and able to mash coarsely, I melted the butter, and added the squash, along with the soaked orange rind and mango until the juices were absorbed by the squash. When I am ready to serve, I will re-heat in the oven at 350 degrees for maybe 15 minutes. The squash cooks down quite a bit - I had 1 whole squash that weighed in at 2 lbs. Used a potato peeler to peel the skin before I roasted it. Very easy - and tasted delish.... not too sweet, with that tang from the orange rind, and juice plus the surprise hint of mango gave the recipe pzazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Excellent. I baked the squash first and then I found this recipe so I then peeled and cubed it and sauteed it in butter and water with a lid over it to soften it up more. Then I added apricot spread, cloves and S&P and coarsely mashed it with a potato masher. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonni Canary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I was expecting an exceptional dish after reading the reviews so maybe that's why I was disappointed with the end result. The squash took about twenty minutes to become tender (so it made dinner late) and the mix of citrus and sweet (which I typically love) just didn't complement the squash. The spiciness of the cloves was the only thing that made this dish palatable and I ended up stirring the leftovers (which we had lots of) in with the leftover barley primavera (excellent side also from this site) to make it better. This could be pretty good with some modifications I think...dice the squash instead of cubing so it cooks more quickly, maybe use diced dried apricots with a tablespoon of brown sugar instead of the preserves so it's not soooooo sweet, and add a little bit of heat with some cayenne pepper. Anyway, if I make it again I'll let y'all know how the changes turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
We loved it! It was delicious. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States