Citrus Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I gave this 3 stars because we liked rice. I agree with virtually everyone else that it is best to just cook the chicken seperatly and not even try to stick it in the pan with the rice. I sauted the onions and the rice before adding the liquids. Also I used stock since that is what I had on hand. I would add some salt next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
quite bland... I added chili powder, garlic powder (fresh would be better but I had none on hand), soya sauce and some hoison sauce. I used tofu instead too and I sauteed it with stock and soya sauce before adding it to the rice. I also added veggies to make it more complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aleasa
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
i gave this 4 stars because, with a few inprovements, it was really good. i gave it a chance because the reviews were promising. i marinated the chicken in italian dressing, orange juice and a dash of soy sauce (sounds weird but it was so good!) and sprinkled pepper, salt, onion and garlic power on the chicken before browning. i did everything else as directed. the rice was really good (part if the orange juice was squeezed from the orange i used). the hubbu actually loved this! give it a shot with your own twists. it's worth keeping. served it with the 'green beans in orange oil' from this site. great starting recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foster City, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Great fast dish! I did follow the suggestions and seasoned the chicken with the lemon pepper, soy sauce & garlic-it turned out great and chicken did not dry out! The rice was just right, flavor was not overpowering. This will become a dinner regular in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I too modified this recipe. It was very plain to start with. I have a son who is a little funny about the texture of rice. It has to be firm or he can't eat it. And we eat high protein meals. So, I used: 2 cans of chunk chicken with broth 5 or 6 boneless thighs 2 cans of chicken broth 3/4 C orange juice a bag of chopped frozen onion 3 Tbsp lemon pepper (adjust to your taste) salt (to taste) mix all the liquid together in a large skillet, add onion, and all the chicken. Bring to a boil and cook til the chicken is well done and the onion is tender (about 20 min). I cooked the rice separately. You can use chicken broth and orange juice or water for the liquid. 1 C rice to 2 C liquid until it was done and dry. Bring liquid to a boil and reduce heat and cook 20 min on low. Then served the chicken mixture over the rice. Worked like a charm, is great for leftovers and the rice won't be soggy today or left over. My family loved it! We will do it again. Next time we may serve it over angel hair pasta for a different kind of meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
For some reason I didn't look at the reviews until I had already started cooking! When I read about the lack of flavor, I added some pepper and italian seasoning to the rice. I used Basmati rice so it cooked pretty quickly and I was afraid the chicken wouldn't be done. So, I cooked the chicken separately and added a sprinkling of soy sauce, garlic and some ginger. Only when the chicken was totally done did I put it along with the juices from cooking it over the rice. Not my favorite thing I've ever made, but it was still pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
after reading the reviews in an attempt to give chicken more flavor i cut the chicken into strips, and marinated it in some orange juice, soy sauce, worstechire sauce, for 10 min or so, i think it will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
The taste was horrible no one in the family liked it. We tried to save it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Reading others say it was a bit dull, I threw some garlic, sage, a tiny pinch of rosemary and just a splash of worshishire sauce. My kids' only complaint was the onion chunks. Otherwise, they gobbled it down! The base recipe is a wonderful start and I think the orange really adds to the flavor and moisture of the chicken. I will be adding this to our favorites to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I added some lime juice to the chicken and powder garlic to the rice while cooking and went really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States