Citrus Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have tried a simliar orange chicken dish to this, but the trick to making it really flavorful was to add either cilantro or jalapeno. I used a bit of both and the results were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
As my 9 year old says, "This is delicious", and we all know how hard it is to get approval from children. I didn't have the orange juice, so I squeezed a little orange and added lemon juice and a few other seasonings I could find to add some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I could tell right away that the chicken would be dry and bland but I did like the rice recipe. Pound out the chicken a little and marinate it for 1 hour in 1 cup orange juice with 2 TAB of lemon pepper seasoning should do the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was a little flat for my taste, so I added a 1/4 tsp ginger, 2 dashes of nutmeg, 1 tbs white wine and 1 1/2 tbs sugar to liven it up. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Season the chicken, for goodness sake! Otherwise, the flavors are fine. Pound the breasts thinner to make sure they cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
The rice is bland. My suggestion is to make the rice seperate and put in chicken base rather than stock. It is much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hlbennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
After reading the reviews about the recipe being bland, yet having all the ingredients in the house, I decided to cut the chicken into strips and marinate in orange juice and crushed garlic while I gathered all the other ingredients. After browning the chicken, I sauteed the onion with some garlic before adding the broth, juice and rice. Two simple changes really added a lot of flavor! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
My family loved this one! I did add garlic, a tablespoon of orange zest, and of course salt and pepper to taste. Overall it's a simple and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was a decent recipe but looked liked it needed a bit more to me. So I did as someone suggested and marinaded the chicken in the orange juice and oil. I added lemon pepper, basil, lemon zest and a pinch of garlic powder to the marinade. I then cooked the chicken in the marinade sauce bringing it all to a boil. I also cooked my onions and some red peppers in oil before adding the chicken and marinade. I made sure I had enough liquid in the pan and then just added the rice to the mixture and cooked until rice was done. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
chicken is WAY too bland, even with the modifications of other posters (lemon pepper on chicken, lots of diced garlic & maybe 4 tbsp of lemon juice). rice was ok with all of the extra lemon juice, but i won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States