Citrus-Basil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Good basic dressing- very simple. Not what you are looking for if you love lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I made this recipe this morning, to be served tonight. I thought the dressing was missing a bit of zing, so I added more lemon juice, vinegar, and honey. I also want to mention that I chose to use the lighter tasting canola oil and apple cider vinegar in the recipe. I think this recipe is nice for a base, but needs tweaking to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I did not like this at all and feel like I wasted my imported olive oil :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Light and fresh-tasting but very mild. I usually prefer salad dressing to be more acidic so I added the juice of an entire orange, extra lemon juice and about a Tbsp and a half of white wine vinegar. Also sprinkled in some fresh ground black pepper and used dried basil since I didn't have any fresh basil on hand. I would imagine olive oil would be a bit heavy for the delicate citrus flavor so I used grape seed oil instead. It's perfect for salad dressings and doesn't congeal in the fridge like olive oil does. Love this recipe..nice fresh flavor that isn't the same old vinegar and oil mix. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. It's not too potent! I used half the amt. of basil using dried basil and left it in while serving. We had it on chicken, lettuce and cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I've made this dressing twice now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly except I cut the ingredients in half as I was only making dressing fro 2 people. I made it again tonight, again following the directions, but replacing the lemon zest and orange juice with red grapefruit. It was really delicious and I'm sure would be good with any combination of citrus you had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This dressing is excellent. Doesn't need anything changed. I made it about 4 hours ahead and strained out the basil right before serving. I put it on mixed baby greens, dried cranberries, tangerines, gorgonzola and toasted pecans. Excellent - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I loved this light, citrus dressing, but do agree with one other review I read. Needs a bit more orange flavor. So next time I will use Orange juice concentrate instead. I did add a bit of orange peel zest and that was a great addition. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Excellent dressing for combination of greens and fruit. I used spinach, romaine, parsley, green onion, strawberries and a little blue cheese. I also made the dressing in the VitaMix, which retained all that wonderful basil flavor. I found it needed lots of salt and pepper and a little more sweetness for my taste, but all in all it is a wonderful, light, refreshing dressing for a summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Learn how to whip up a fresh-herb salad dressing in just two minutes.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States